help exchange   Host 25455
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Bay of Islands
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 25455
Region: Far North

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: December 8, 2016

We are a family living in Opua in the beautiful Bay of Islands. We have a few projects we would really like to get finished but we need a little help as work and looking after our 6 and 4 year olds tend to slow us down.

Opua is on the coast about 6km south of Paihia. It is a small settlement with a shop, café, cruising club and a sizeable marina and boatie community.

We live within walking distance of the centre of Opua on a quiet street with a view over the river. Our helper accommodation is within our house but on the ground level, so our helpers can have their own space. It has been converted from the garage/store area and is basic but comfortable with it’s own bathroom, queen bed and couch. There is also a small fridge, microwave and kettle. Oh, and a piano.

At the moment we need to put up a shed, do major maintenance work on our boat (classic wooden yacht for any sailors out there), get the garden in order, do some cleaning and upgrade work on the house and a few other small jobs. A lot of the jobs are fairly physical.

We would like to host two helpers and our accommodation would suit couples. If you have any relevant trade experience (or you are handy in the kitchen/around the house) then that would be great but if you are cheerful and keen to learn then that is good too. You do definitely need to like being around children though.

We would ask you each work the equivalent of 4 hrs per day although this would usually be structured so that you worked full days and had full free days rather than doing 4 hours every day. We would provide breakfast and dinner each day plus lunch on the days you worked. We also have wi-fi you can use.

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use