help exchange   Host 25494
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Cradoc
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 8
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 25494
Region: Tasmania

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: February 10, 2014

Hello Helpers

Room from April 2014

We need some help with our little part of paradise here in Cradoc. There is 20 acres of stingy bark forest but we only tend about an acre of it. It isn't a farm but we grow everything organically.

Basically a clearing of about 40 meters diameter with a quite large house in the middle. We have a large area under garden for food, a large chook run and a mud oven under a roof at the back of the house. Hopefully you'll get an idea from the photos.

There are two of us that live here and we are both pretty laid back people. We are a couple of older left leaning types who live in this area because of the 'alternative' community here. Community and respect are important to us and HelpX seems a great way to widen and deepen respect in the global community across this planet.

Our house can only support a single helper or a couple as we only have one big spare room. A couple of single mattresses on the floor with plenty of blankets if you don't have sleeping bags. There are two bathrooms in the house and plenty of space in the living areas. The kitchen is large and loves being cooked in. Fast internet access via wireless network is available. We have TV but often the signal is poor because of the tall trees. The mobile phone signal is poor unless you use Telstra.

In exchange for 4 hours of work a day with 2 days off a week, we will provide accommodation and food for you.

We need help with general gardening, cutting & stacking wood and general house work and cooking.

Helpers will be preferably non-smoking, friendly yet quiet, independent, responsible and willing to work. If you smoke we would ask you to smoke up where the mud oven is and place all butts in the bin.

Normally Helpers are welcome for stays of up to one or two weeks, including a weekend. However, longer stays are negotiable.

Cygnet is 6 km away and has all facilities like shops, post office, on-line access centre, library, excellent cafes, film nights, and is a great community to live in/near. Helpers are very welcome to come into Cygnet with us if we drive in, and we are happy to take helpers on little excursions around the local area for walks, swimming, garden visits etc.

We can collect you from the bus in Cradoc, Cygnet or Huonville.

This is not a commercial farm and we can't sign visa extension applications. Helpers should have travel insurance.

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use