Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 25939
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Natural Bridge
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 20
Persons: depends on needs
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 25939
Region: Queensland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 18, 2018

*Update 18th June 2018* We are currently looking for some helpers to come and help with the cultivation of the land, gardening, helping with cooking/cleaning around the house and occasionally looking after children as well as bringing some fresh and enthusiastic energy to the community. We offer free accommodation in exchange for 4 hours of work a day- 5 days a week. We ask that you each pay $70 for food each week to help towards the cost of the food that we supply, which will cover more than enough for you to be completely satisfied with the meals that you receive each day.

Between May 22 and 5 July, all the residents will be vegan as the meat eaters are away for this time!

From July onwards we will be offering a paid position for an au pair / child carer, for a minimum period of three months, longer term preferred. You would mainly look after a 3 year old boy and a 1 year old girl. Experience with young children is preferred. A German speaker would be ideal, but others also considered. Please email Andrea on Vickers.andrea@gmail.com to talk about this further :) *

We live on a rural property with four houses, and we're working towards becoming a self sufficient intentional community. We have 9 adults and 4 children, two dogs and some chickens. Some of our interests are: learning to live in community together, self sufficiency, sustainable food production, permaculture, native bush regeneration, natural learning, peaceful parenting, making music, being creative, having fun, making the world a better place :)

We're in the beautiful Numinbah Valley near the Gold Coast, a half hour drive from Nerang train station, and half an hour from Murwillumbah bus station. The property is very scenic, in a valley between two national parks, with dams, a creek, a waterhole for swimming and lots of wildlife. We are about 2km from the Natural Bridge section of Springbrook national park, which has a cave with a waterfall, and glow worms at night.

There's lots happening here, with volunteers, community members, events, family and friends. Days off can be spent bushwalking, swimming, or visiting local towns, attractions and national parks. There's no local public transport but there is always someone coming or going, so we are happy to help you get around on your days off.

When new helpers arrive, we spend the first few days getting to know each other and make sure it is a good fit for everyone. After this, we prefer helpers to stay with us for two weeks or longer, as we find this leads to a better experience.

Work hours are flexible, depending on the task and who is organising it. We try to match the work with your skills and interests when possible. We value helpers who are proactive, enjoy contributing, and know how to get things done. If you have particular needs or circumstances, please let us know before you arrive so that we can be sure we can accommodate you.

Some meals are community meals, others are smaller groups or self serve. We can cater to most diets. We provide all food, but not alcohol (we can pick it up for you though). Accommodation is your own room, either in one of the houses, or in a separate accommodation block. Optus and Telstra work here but Vodafone does not. We have mobile wifi, available for moderate use.

We also have a small festival at the end of each season on our land, the next one will be around the end of august. It's a camping weekend on our beautiful creek flat, with about 100 people who come. There will be a camp kitchen, marquee, hot spa, chill out spaces, waterhole, fire pit. Plus many workshops such as men's circles, women's circles, children's activities, yoga, massage tent, talks on diverse topics of philosophical and practical interest, tree planting, fire dancing, open mic night, dance workshops, spiritual practices, etc. We will need some help around that time to get the site ready for the festival, which will include brushcutting, mulching, and setting up infrastructure. Of course, you get to come to the event and have a good time :)


Our helpers usually love their time here, and want to stay longer.

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use