help exchange   Host 25998
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Pezenas
All Year: 25 April - 30 Oct
Area (ha):
Persons: 1-6, no couples
Category: Accommodation Business
Host ID: 25998
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 18, 2014

Come and help us and our team of volunteers in a charming mediaeval town in Languedoc, South of France!

Hi there! We’re looking NOW for a ‘general helper’ girl from 22 June, to look after us and a fun young team of volunteer guys who are helping us to restore our third property in the beautiful mediaeval town of Pezenas in Mediterranean France. :)

THE ROLE : You’ll be the “Team Support Person”, doing housework, helping to prepare meals, other varied things, and generally supporting us and our team. (See below for details.) If you want (and if you have the skills) you can have an expanded role, giving additional help with our tourism business.

However, please ONLY contact us if you're happy doing some cleaning and cooking each week. All other activities are bonuses and you must be able to do the basics first! :)

TIMESCALES: We need someone from 22 JUNE, minimum stay at least 2 weeks, maximum 3 months. If you can't start until 4-6 weeks' time, then I'm sorry but it’s not worth contacting us now!

YOU : We’re looking for a friendly person aged 18-30 with intelligence and common sense, well-presented and fit, who likes to take responsibility. :) Basically you must be happy to clean a house and you must be comfortable in the kitchen, with some reasonable cooking skills.

Sorry, but we can't accept two girls travelling together.

ABOUT US AND THE PROJECT
I'm Sara, originally from Budapest, and my husband is originally from London. We’re friendly people, fully integrated into French life and our friends are mostly French.

We run a small tourism business here in the Mediterranean area of the South of France. This includes things like villa and hotel accommodation, canal boat holidays, wine tours, canoeing, pleasure flights, day trips, history tours, riding, etc. We also have other online businesses which maybe you could help with.

We currently have a young team of volunteer guys who are helping us to renovate a lovely old house we bought on the other side of town. That's where you'll live and you'll help there and at our home villa.

DETAILS OF THE HELP WE NEED :-

Generally being the “housekeeper” for the team and making things run smoothly!

BORING BUT NECESSARY HOUSEKEEPING JOBS
6 hours, one day/week : Cleaning our rental villa thoroughly, for the next guests.
3 hours, one day/week : Cleaning our home villa next door (ground floor only).

Changing the bed linen weekly, doing the clothes laundry twice per week.
Prepare sandwich lunches and simple dinners for us all - sometimes with my husband’s help but also cooking simple meals for the team on your own.

Helping with shopping. Buying baguettes each day. Helping with the swimming pools.

OTHER JOBS (when there’s time or if you feel like it)
Gardening, walking our adorable dog Max, various odd jobs like going to the Post Office, maybe helping with our tourism business?

HOURS
Around 5 hours per day on average?

You could have an expanded role if you want - and if you have the ability. This includes the work above and also meeting and greeting guests for our rental villa, answering questions, showing them around the villa and giving them the keys. There’s also the possibility of being the guide for walking tours and other activities, if you want. All of that is up to you. :)

ACCOMMODATION
‘Volunteer Team Base’ is our new house which we're renovating and restoring. It's about 5 minutes from our home, on the other side of town. You’ll share this property with the young volunteer guys doing the renovation, and you’ll have your own room. There’s TV and WiFi.

You will also have the opportunity to come and use our lovely pool at our home villa. :)

WHAT ELSE….
Everyone loves the charming mediaeval town of Pezenas! It’s full of life, with shops, art galleries and artisans workshops, bars, cafes, restaurants... etc.. and there are fun events going on. There are also buses and trains for visiting other towns and cities.

You’ll meet people including our French and international friends so that you feel part of the community. You'll also meet lots of young people in the town. It’s a very friendly place! No doubt you’ll also become friends with the volunteer guys who are helping us with the restoration work. It’s currently a fun atmosphere for everyone. :)

We provide your food and drink during your stay of course. You’ll have free time to visit the region, learn French, sit and chat in cafes and bars, study, do sports, or whatever else you feel like doing.

Finally, the weather here is what you'd expect from the Mediterranean area of the South of France – sunny for over 300 days a year!

Kind regards,
Sara

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use