help exchange   Host 26005
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Opotiki
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 54 ha
Persons: 1 or couple
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 26005
Region: Bay of Plenty

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 17, 2017

Hi My name is Rikki and My Partner is Annie, We moved to our property early March 2015. It's incredibly beautiful with numerous streams, waterfalls and endless bush walks. There are 12 paddocks around 20 Akers grazing the rest is bush Which your welcome to explore, There are also long and short walks in the local doc lands. We have sheep and their lambing at the moment, chooks and Ducks, We collect and sell their eggs. Donkeys, calves and beekeeping and we collect and sell our own honey. We also have wild Deer and Goats on the property. We have 3 Dogs Sara, Sam and Melly who are very friendly.
Most of our meat we produce here on the farm to the freezer and now we are growing a lot of our own veggies, tunnel house is still to come for our winter crop.

We're lucky enough to have kiwi and Weka in the bush and so pest control is very important.

I control the pest: shooting rabbits and possums and we trap rats and stoats.

At the moment we have a number of jobs that we are doing getting the paddocks free of weeds and reseeding is an important one we are also removing trees and scrub from the paddocks to allow more sunlight to produce better grass for our animals. We also have a hydro system which we work on every now and then to get it better and make the route for the water straighter, So we are building guild wires across valleys etc, also we are building new tracks in the bush for easier access to the water falls etc, If you love the bush and working in it this will suit you.
We now own our own sawmill and are producing timber which we will use to build cabins for people to stay in.
We are now on both solar and hydro power which is working really well. We have a caravan which you would be staying in.
We share all our meals and you are welcome in the house anytime.

We have glow worms and they are expanding each time we like to go for walks at night either exploring or hunting.

The Opotiki township is 20 minutes drive away and we can pick you up from there,
There is a stream to Kayak in and a swim after a days work is great but only in the summer. We see trout in our stream but I have never caught any thing yet.
1 of the photo's show myself and 3 helpx enjoying a swim in the stream after work it feels great.


Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use