help exchange   Host 2622
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Noosa
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1.2
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 2622
Region: Queensland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: February 2, 2016

Our home, based on a geodesic dome, is on the outskirts of Pomona and has a wonderful view of Mount Cooroora. We have a small property (just under 3 acres). We are adding to our small pocket of rainforest along the creek with local species and experimenting with permaculture principles. We have a vegie garden, some fruit trees and "chooks" (chickens).

Our helpxers give us 3-4 hours a day five days a week in exchange for accommodation and food. In different seasons we need help in our garden - mulching, planting, composting, landscaping - and in the house with cleaning and general maintenance. At the moment we need someone to help with spring cleaning of the house and weeding in garden at the beginning of summer.

During the summer months get up at six o'clock and work for a couple of hours after breakfast. Then we lie around in the heat of the day and do a bit more work in the late afternoon. On hot days we cool off by jumping into our natural plunge pool, which we built with our helpers a few years ago. It is filled with dam water and recycled through a reedbed.

Noosa Heads is only 30 minutes away. If you don't have a car, you can catch the bus if you want to explore the Noosa National Park or the beaches and shops on your days off.

We like our Helpxers to feel like part of the family and join us in conversation, cooking, watching movies and playing games. Mari is an experienced TESOL English teacher so travellers of all nationalities are welcome.



Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use