help exchange   Host 26273
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Auckland
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 4
Persons: 1 or 2 -as a couple
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 26273
Region: North Auckland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: October 15, 2017

Next available - now until 22/10.

You will be expected to be a self-starter, very responsible and have great initiative.

Enthusiasm to learn and to be self-motivated is a must for us. The ability to prepare food and cook would be an advantage.

Would prefer someone with knowledge of birds and aviaries or a strong willingness and enthusiasm to learn. Not being scared of large parrots would also help.

Interest in goats and hedgehogs would be a major advantage. We breed angora goats and care for rescued hedgehogs.

We have a lifestyle block in North Auckland, 5 mins from main highway north, about 30 mins from central city.
Currently, we need someone that knows, or has the ability to learn fast, how to care for aviary and hand raised birds. You will need to be confident around them and be diligent and caring regarding their needs.

We have one double bedroom available so would suit either a couple or a single person. The bathroom is shared, so being clean and tidy is a must. Own transport preferred but we can drop to local buses during reasonable hours.

We mainly keep angora goats and many aviary birds along with sheep and a few chickens.
Feeding, and caring for,the birds is the first task every day, also the hedgehogs in our care are a daily job, mid afternoon.
We also have two working dogs that are part of the family.

There are many different jobs that we need your help with, some are hard, others, really easy.

Physical work will definitely be part of your tasks.

Tasks we would like you to help with include feeding the birds, cleaning the aviaries, helping with the goats regards feeding, drenching and foot trimming, fencing, mowing the small lawn we have, gardening and weeding, planting trees (at the right time of year), line trimming where needed, spraying the paddocks for reeds, sorting through "stuff" stored for far too long. These are by no means all that we have as jobs, just a variety, as all lifestyle blocks have. As there are many jobs, they will be chosen depending on your abilities and the time of year.

We do have very friendly kids but they all have 4 legs and are covered in mohair fleece. These do not require much babysitting.

15 mins drive from Orewa and it's beaches and shops, 5 mins drive from Silverdale shopping centre and supermarkets. We do have some amazing walks and parks nearby, Shakespear Park, Okura- Stillwater walk to name a couple. Plenty of beaches for chilling or swimming. We can point you in the right direction or, if we have the time, join you to let you know what you are seeing.

We also have 27 acres in Wellsford where we may require some fencing and spraying done from time to time.

Free wifi access with reasonable usage. This does not include downloading/watching movies :-)

Water is collected on our roof so careful usage will be appreciated, especially if we have not had rain for a while.
In the summer, strictness on water usage will be a big thing.

We prefer non-smokers.

We will treat you as part of the family, not as unpaid labourers.

We eat a variety of foods and enjoy cooking but please feel free to take over the kitchen if you have the skills. If you are a vegetarian/vegan you will be expected to contribute to compiling the meals/menu.

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use