help exchange   Host 26430
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


South Devon
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 1
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 26430
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 31, 2017

Looking for help between 4th Sept - Dec 2017.

We live by the sea in Devon in the South West of England, half an hour from the wonderful Dartmoor National Park, 25 minutes from the beautiful city of Exeter, the nearest train station with trains to London every couple of hours is just a short walk away.

We live 5 walk minutes from the beach and harbour.

In exchange for about 4 hours work a day, 5 days a week, you will have your own room (with a view of the sea), decent wifi and all meals, including a packed lunch if you are going out for the day. We eat a mostly vegetarian diet, but eat wild or free range meat occasionally. The helping hours you are required to do need to be flexible around the family - depending what needs doing that day - but ideally if you are confident to cook the evening meal for the majority of the week, and do an hour or two housework, working on your own that's great. It is usual to just see what needs doing and lend a hand, walking the dog or helping in the workshop, the rest of the time is yours to go and do whatever you like.

You will have lots of opportunities to go out on your own and explore - I'm usually busy with the business, and although we love walking, and being in the outdoors, in term-time aside from dog walks, we don't have lots of time to show you the sights - so it's really a case of exploring for yourself - we have lots of maps and information you can use! In addition there will be two full days off per week for independent activities and travel.

Anyone coming to stay with us should be easy going, down to earth and totally happy to muck in. You also need to be happy to work on your own or help out as things go along.

You'll need to be relaxed, but mature and responsible, and happy to fit into and become part of our family. The kids are 2 polite, happy, open people, curious about the world and different cultures. You will need to like being around kids, a VERY bouncy young dog.

This is not a placement for someone who craves peace and quiet (we are a noisy lot and our little house is pretty open plan and in a touristy area) - but equally it's not for someone who is wanting a hugely social time - we're in a small seaside town (not big city life) where not a huge amount happens, although there are plenty of community events, a small theatre and lots of things happening in the harbour in the summer.

References are essential. Sorry - without references or a photo, it's impossible to assess your application to come to stay with us.

Please note the feedback here is from helpxers who stayed with us in Sussex, we have recently moved to our new home by the sea in South Devon.

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use