help exchange   Host 2654
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Bodmin, Cornwall
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 2.5
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 2654
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: December 16, 2015

We are looking for a good reliable person from early February to stay for a month or two.

Berry Lane Cottage is a six acre smallholding with delightful formal and informal gardens. We have over 200 camellias, azaleas and rhododendrons, ponds, woodland walks, forest gardens, newly planted orchards, vegetable gardens, greenhouses etc.
We keep chickens, ducks, geese and turkeys and hatch & raise our own replacements.
Accommodation is in a cosy caravan with electricity, TV, fridge etc there is a shower and loo nearby.
We will be needing help with, lots of general gardening, woodland work, hedge laying , dog walking, and to have lots and lots of bonfires. We will need help doing some fencing and general tasks which will vary! We have 30 years smallholding experience and can teach you a lot.
In return there will be accommodation as described above or you can bring your own tent in the summer! Lots of good food will be provided, we are known for feeding you well including lots of cake!
We are 200m from the nationally known cycle route The Camel Trail and bikes can be borrowed to go to Wadebridge, Padstow, Bodmin and Blisland on the moor. We are 20-30 mins drive from lots of sandy beaches and also The Eden Project and The lost gardens of Heligan.
We provide free use of our 4G wifi.
NOTE
you must bring a good quality sleeping bag! we can provide blankets, camp beds, duvets and hot water bottles.
The accommodation is only for sleeping in and at all other times access to the house is possible. Volunteers have their own toilet, shower and hot and cold basin or compost toilet and shower depending on guests. IMPORTANT!!! PLEASE NOTE WE DO BED AND BREAKFAST AND THIS INCLUDES SHEPHERDS HUTS, THEREFORE BREAKFAST MIGHT HAVE TO BE EATEN EARLY OR LATE AND SHOWERS ETC MAY HAVE TO BE TAKEN AT LUNCH TIME SO AS NOT TO GET IN THE WAY OF GUESTS!
Old and warm work clothes and waterproofs are a must as are good boots! Please make sure you have these as we cannot supply them.
Hours of work are 9-4 with an hour for lunch and 2 days off usually at the weekend when we are very willing to help you find something to do or places to visit. Very fast 4G WiFi available.
It's very important that volunteers have a good level of English understanding and spoken language as we do not have time to teach you.
We expect people to respect our home and land and to enjoy themselves.

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use