help exchange   Host 27222
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Wallacedale
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 3
Persons: 1 - 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 27222
Region: Victoria

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: December 14, 2017

LOVE HORSES? LOVE A RELAXED ATMOSPHERE WITH A VARIETY OF ANIMALS? LOADS OF TIME TO EXPLORE THE AREA! You WILL NEED to have your own vehicle.

We are located at Wallacedale, which is in South West Victoria, not too far from Mount Gambier (South Australia), Hamilton (Vic), the Southern Grampians, Warrnambool, Portland, Naracoorte etc.... all within a couple of hours at most from here.

Prefer 1 - 2 week minimum stay and depending on how you fit in here - we may be able to accommodate you longer :D (Had one awesome lady stay for 16 months, others from a few days to a few weeks or months....)

Duties here include but are not limited to:

- Feeding/Watering Horses and a Winky Wonky Donkey and giving appropriate scratches.

- Meeting the needs of the cats (ie: pats, food, the usual things demanded of humans by cats...)

- Submitting to the whim of a rather unique Kelpie who is not a dog, she is a people. Belly rubs must be given daily, morsels of food must be shared, and the couch must be shared... She also has two 'brothers in fur' - a Blue Heeler and a moving mop (Maltese x Shitzu x Pomeranian)... they love attention too...

- Some preparation of meals and a bit of a tidy up in the house would be required - basically - keep the communal areas neat and tidy - (kitchen, dining room, lounge, bathroom, laundry etc...)

My health is sadly not what it should be, so I am really only good at supervising - and sometimes not even that - on good days I can get in and do some stuff with the critters, on a bad day - I struggle to stand up. I never know what sort of day I am going to have til it arrives. This is extremely frustrating as you can imagine but make the most of what I can :D And you get to laugh at me when I fall over - that has to be a bonus, right? lol

My carer/housemate and her nearly teenage daughter (the human parents of the kelpies brothers in fur lol) and I are still sorting out the house/property etc that we have not long moved into, so some help with fencing, organising etc would be awesome.

Very relaxed 'workload' and lots of time to see the local area. The 'work' equates to 45 mins to an hour most days, and up to 3 hours or so - depending on weather and what is happening at the time. Its flexible - and as long as horses are fed and watered - everything else can be worked around.

Loads to see around the local area (Caves with Stalagmites and Stalactites, Sink Holes, The river, the beach, the Blue Lake, Waterfalls, The Grampians etc) within a half hour to a couple of hours from home.

Accommodation is provided, its basic, but comfy... You will have a large caravan to yourself with a double bed, electricity, wifi etc... No Smoking inside or within 5 metres (roughly) of the front/back doors and any open windows but outside is ok.

You will be required to provide your own food and luxury items (ie: alcohol - or if you only eat the super expensive brands of things)... Basics such as bread, milk, sugar, whatever is in the pantry (a variety of marinades, the usual flour, herbs and spices, pasta, rice etc is all in there) are provided
**NO Shellfish or Mushrooms are to be in the house though as I am highly allergic! - some other allergies too but those are the major ones that require really looking out for**

Full use of kitchen, lounge room, bathroom, laundry, the usual :D

Bathroom has a shower with pretty good water pressure and good heat in the water!

Own vehicle needed as we are 8km from the nearest pub - and 30km from the nearest grocery store, bakery, fuel, pharmacy etc....

I have had some wonderful helpers already in the last two years and feel privileged to have met the wonderful young ladies and gents from France, Germany, America and England.

If you want to improve your English, have a good laugh, then get in touch :D

**We are on what was an old dairy so loads of space and no immediate neighbours - just our section of it is only 3 acres...




Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use