help exchange   Host 27283
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Oamaru
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 0.8
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 27283
Region: Otago

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: October 23, 2017

We are Sophia & Mark in Oamaru--the coolest, spunkiest town in New Zealand and the funkiest town in North Otago! There is a blossoming community of artists, musicians, and people with projects here. We are well known for our Victorian architecture and local colonies of penguins. Sophia first came here on a cycle tour in 2006 around the South Island and now lives here permanently--Oamaru is the kind of place you just want to stay! Marky grew up here, ventured the world and loved Oamaru so much he came home.

We own houses that are next door to each other and we are developing our dream of an eco homestead, and an eco-village eventually! Sophia works as the manager of the local community gardens and Asta la Pasta. Marky is a handy man and pasta chef. Our flatmate Alex is an electrician. Figo and Fia are celebrity sausage dogs & Giuseppe is a tabby jazz cat.

We are looking for help with renovation projects around the house, dog sitting, gardening, painting, cooking and odd jobs. We are always working on something different, so things never get boring! Building skills are a bonus but happy to share what I know if you're keen to learn. WE REALLY NEED ENTHUSIASTIC HELPERS IN THE MONTH OF OCTOBER! Daily duties include watering the garden, walking the dog and sometimes cooking. Everything else just varies by the day. Jam night is Thursdays if you like to play music.

Accommodation is in the sun room at the eco homestead--we live in the centre of town beside the Botanic Gardens. We can provide you with a bicycle or long board on loan so you can get around town on wheels! We have animals, so if you are allergic BEWARE!

We usually share mainly vegetarian meals in the evening--if you cannot eat a vegetarian diet, we are probably not good hosts for you. We will provide breakfast & lunch also. We adore and appreciate amazing chefs!

We can provide internet, accommodation & meals in exchange for 5-6 hours of work every day. Work is primarily building, gardening, composting, weeding, harvesting vegetables, , making pasta, cooking, and odd jobs.

Languages: English, Maori, Spanish, Italian & basic French

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use