help exchange   Host 27307
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Wistow
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 2
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 27307
Region: South Australia

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 24, 2015

**Not looking for any helpers at the moment**

Little Hill is a 5 acre non-certified organic/biodaynamic lifestyle property in the Adelaide Hills. The property belongs to my mother, Edith (aka "Mae") who lives with us. My partner and I (with two young children) look after the property and would love to have travellers come and stay with us! We grow garlic, have a big vegetable garden, potato patch, a hand-sown barley crop (for making homebrew beer!)fruit trees, chickens, two horses and two dogs. There is also a studio space that gets used for workshops, classes and meetings. We are interested sustainable agriculture, self-sufficiency and conservation and we practice organic methods,use some biodynamic principles and are starting to learn about permaculture. You can look for Little Hill Farm on facebook if you like!

Please note: we can not sign 2nd year visa requirements, the farm isn't big enough.

The jobs list never seems to get any shorter so we would love helpers with practical skills and a can-do attitude to help us out! There are many different types of jobs depending on your skills and the time of the year, but mainly we need help with day-to-day household chores, weeding gardens, mowing, collecting firewood and painting. Usually we have some sort of building project on the go as well. Aaron is at home with our two children full time and I work 6 mornings a week. Aaron will find jobs for you most days. Some days you will help Mae in the vegie garden and some days Aaron will spend some time working together with you, but you must he prepared to work independently as well.

Little Hill is 7km away from Mt. Barker which has cafes, shopping, the beautiful Laratinga wetlands and a farmers market on Saturday mornings. If you like wine there are cellar doors within easy driving and other nice towns like Hahndorf and Strathalbyn to explore. The beach is about 40min drive. Without a car you are quite limited here. We have a bike that visitors are welcome to borrow, but it is hard work to ride up hill from town to our place. However, there are opportunities for bird watching, photography and bushwalking. There is a large mob of Kangaroos that lives just down the road if you want to see some wildlife, or you can just relax in the caravan or hammock reading a book, or hanging out with our animals. One of our horses is also suitable for riding.

Accommodation on Little Hill is in a 28ft caravan which sleeps two people comfortably. The caravan is old and rough (renovating it is also on the jobs list!) but we keep it tidy and clean.If you prefer, there are some magic spots to set up a swag or a tent, the stars are something to behold here on a moonless night! The caravan is stocked with everything you need for breakfast and lunch. Dinner is cooked and eaten with us as a family. We cook simple meals using as much we we can from the garden. Meals are vegetable-based with some meat, we make a lot of soups, stews, casseroles and bakes. We also bake bread and make beer. You will share a bathroom with the family. Please be aware that there is no TV in the caravan (we don't have one in the house either) and no WiFi access. Telstra mobiles have excellent coverage but other networks might be slow or not work at all. We go into town several times a week and there is free WiFi at McDonald's that you can use. There are books, board games and musical instruments instead of TV ;-)

We would love to share our lifestyle with travellers but know that staying with a family that has two small children (aged 4 and 2)doesn't suit everyone. It can sometimes be noisy, irritating or chaotic and both parents can be very busy with the children. Visitors need to be prepared to make thier own fun and work to our routine with the children. We usually go to bed early and say 'goodnight' after dinner, so you will have most evenings to yourself in the caravan.We are a warm and welcoming family and are keen for our children to meet people from all walks of life and hear different languages spoken.

We enjoy passing on our skills and knowledge while learning new skills from our visitors. We are especially interested in visitors with practical skills we can learn from, like mechanics, building, stone masonry, farming or conservation knowledge, butchery, cookery, composting and animal breeding. Of course, musicians, artists, star gazers and philosophers are also welcome…as long as they don’t mind getting their hands dirty!

Our homestay might be better suited to couples or friends as you can keep each other company in the evenings but we are very happy to have singles as long as you are happy to spend some time by yourself.

We look forward to meeting you!

Aaron, Anna & Mae.

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use