help exchange   Host 27424
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Uddevalla and Grundsund
All Year: all year
Area (ha):
Persons: 1 - 4
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 27424
Country: Sweden

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 19, 2018

We are originally a family of 6, I, Carina, my four daughters and my husband Pär. Since last summer all girls, but Nanna, 17, have, more or less, left home for further studies. Pär is old and rather sick in MND and wants to live the rest of his life in his home in Grundsund, a small village on an island, 20 km. west from my house in Uddevalla. Now, during winter he and I live most of our time in Uddevalla because of Nanna´s school, but we try to take care of Grundsund as well, which is not always so easy.

The girls and I started to welcome HelpXers to our Uddevalla home four years ago and since then we have met so many interesting, wonderful, helpful, caring and skilled people - men and women, boys and girls, who in different ways have helped us with various practical matters, but also contributed to increase our understanding of the world and letting us become their friends - in many cases, I believe, for life!

Even though we now live at two places, we hope to welcome you, who would like to share our life for a shorter or longer time!
We offer accomodation in one of our two homes, food and friendship in exchange for some practical help. Both indoor and outdoor help is needed and you should be prepared to do some household work as well. Most help is needed outside, though, like wood chopping, painting, building, repairing things, gardening, weeding and more, depending on the season!
In Pär´s house in Grundsund we have, with the help of HelpXers, accomplished a bathroom on the groundfloor and a bigger hall, where he can have his electric wheel chair. We now need to continue with some painting and wallpapering. The last storm also destroyed the garden fence...

We are flexible with working hours, but require about 20-30 hours/week.Some weeks more and other weeks less. You are welcome to stay for at least one week but if we get on well together you are welcome to stay longer. A period between one week and three months would be great!

Our beloved dog, Doris, died, but we have four cats to chear up our lives! They spend most of their time outdoors, when not sleeping by the fire!

Hope to hear from you, who think it could be nice to spend some time with us here on the beautiful, Swedish west coast!

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use