help exchange   Host 27625
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Kohukohu
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 40
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 27625
Region: Far North

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 11, 2014

I am a retired engineer living alone with my dog, with just some poultry for eggs and garden pest control, there are no farm animals. I am omnivarian.
The property is 40 hectares of mostly native forest, with about 2 hectares reserved for house, gardens and orchard, my version of paradise. We are on the sealed highway a few Km from Kohukohu in the Hokianga. This is also a Dark Zone which means when the sun goes down then the stars come out, often with wonderful opportunities for star-gazing.
I would appreciate help with converting garden and forest waste into compost, creating, planting and weeding vegetable gardens, preserving excess fruit and other miscellaneous tasks generally associated with living in the countryside.
Helper accommodation is a small caravan adjacent to my house. Kitchen and bathroom are shared in the house.
The property is smoke-free.
I am a good cook but with no imagination so any assistance in that is also appreciated.
My interests include photography, wine and liqueur making, and living sustainably.
There is no public transport. Occasionally I can collect helpers from Kerikeri, an hour's drive away.

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use