help exchange   Host 27767
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Takaka (Pohara)
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 3 ha
Persons: 1, or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 27767
Region: Golden Bay

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 24, 2017

Welcome!
Are you available from around November 27th through to December 11th?

We are looking for 1 or 2 fun, enthusiastic, capable helpers to help with property & house maintenance. Also childcare for our lovely 5 year old twins. We are looking for mature helpers (mid-20's & up).

We have a beautiful house with a view overlooking the ocean, a few kilometeres outside Takaka (near Pohara). It is easy to go to Abel Tasman from here.

We have a huge backyard (bushland), with mountain views, and lots of bird life. We have a dog, chickens, and 2 wonderful kids (Lenny & Keana, 5 years old).

You can make homemade food here, we make bread, saurkraut, pancakes, kefir, biscuits, kombucha etc. We love fresh local & seasonal produce and eat free-range/ organic meat, so not so suitable for vegetarian/vegans.

I (Hera) teach singing & music, work part time in the organic shop, and practice yoga & thai massage. Ueli is a self-employed tiler/block layer who's getting into pottery. We love having dress up parties and dancing to 80's music!

Nearby here is bushwalking, tramping, rock-climbing, walking, cycling, hitchhiking, you can do a lot here. We have cable internet - NO WIFI, sorry. It's 2.5km to the cafe with wifi. So if you don't have your own transport, you better enjoy a good walk!

We love music and have a guitar, piano, recorder, accordian, shruti etc here. We also like dancing, reading, music, coffee, and we live an alternative lifestyle. You can watch beautiful sunsets from our deck- the view is very nice here. There is also a glow worm grotto here!

I am happy to welcome fellow travellers into my home! We enjoy those who come with some life experience. My Philosophy: It's nice to be nice. Live and let all others live. Recycle. Live simply and well.

You will be asked to work around 4 hours per day in exchange for food, and accommodation. Work time is flexible. Handy people (with skills, like building) are most welcome. There are lots of ongoing projects on the land.

We expect our helpers to take part in daily household chores on top of the basic exchange. That means you either wash the dishes or cook the meal for the family. We appreciate those who are happy to go that extra mile.

Our minimum stay is 1 week, however if for any reason it doesn't flow then we talk about it- we love clear communicators. Smoking outdoors only (prefer non-smokers). Peaceful & relaxing environment (except when the kids are screaming!), easy going lifestyle.

I like people that are peaceful travellers through life. Those that live and let live! We are looking for mature helpers (mid-20's & up).

We have a private caravan for guests (it has kitchen facilities).

I can pick you up in Takaka or you can drive or hitchhike to Pohara.
Email contact please.

See you soon :)

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use