help exchange   Host 28225
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Granada
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 5,000m2
Persons: 3
Category: Other
Host ID: 28225
Country: Spain

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: January 13, 2018

I have been living in Andalucia 16 yrs, with my son and 2 daughthers. My eldest left now to Granada university.

Having reformed our original cortijo, creating 4 rental properties, all enclosed in a couryard garden with a small pool.
We then moved onto the land, which is directly infront, separated by a narrow track.
During the past 12 years of my amateur but creative building, room by room, using stones collected from the nearby riverbed, marble from the skip and mostly recycled materials, lots of generous help from friends and worldwide volunteers Now gradually has developed into a 4 bedroom family home, with various outbuildings and dwellings.

A converted bus sits in the corner, with its outside kitchen/living area all under a roof.
A few meters away, along a path is the colourful bottle bathroom, then nearby is the platform awaiting its Sauna, hidden away behind the shrubs is a splash pool.
On the other side from this is a small wooden house, with a constructed bathroom and open fronted kitchen.

I welcome help with, reforming and maintaining the existing buildings.

There is a Sauna to assemble, lincludimg landscaping an area around it and developing the changing facilities. The open air shower to build from bottles

We have ongoing land clearing, weeding, pruning, landscaping, olive picking, and planting in the veggie garden.
Building stone walls, steps, terraces, tiling and mosaic work.
Painting, cleaning and cookingb

We can accommodate volunteer helpers in a small caravan, a room in the house, the camper bus or a tent on land, where there is also plenty of space to park your own vehicle

Situated on the edge of a small village with a bar, primary school, church, doctors surgery and park. There is an ecological distribution centre, with its shop selling organic vedge and Whole Foods. Their cafe organise frequent events, like exhibitions, markets and workshops.

Orgiva 6km by road has frequent bus service (or 45 min walking overland crossing the river).
Orgiva with its shops, bars, restaurants, banks and post office, with the popular Thursday market serves as a hub for the villages and alternative groups who have settled in the surrounding mountains and valleys

We look after chickens and a small dog.

We eat a mainly organic vegetarian diet.

We have WI-FI internet.Mains electric and water.

We generally work 5 hours 5 days a week, that's flexible.

We are 35 min drive away from the beaches of the costa del sol, and in the other direction Granada, with the Sierra Nevada mountain range
You can explore the surrounding area, with its picturesque whitewashed mountain villages. There are also many activities like hiking, skiing, mountain bike, horse riding, and yoga available.
There are regular buses to Orgiva, from all directions and then to the village Tablones.
If necessary we can pick you up from Orgiva bus station.

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use