help exchange   Host 28517
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Arrens Marsous
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 5
Persons: 2 to 3
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 28517
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 15, 2018

**Update** We urgently need another helper any time from now until the beginning of May, to assist with preparing holiday accommodation for guests, gardening, looking after chickens and helping around the house. We need to be away from home for a couple of weekends in April, and so the helpers must be responsible and able to look after the house and guests in our absence.

We are a Simon and Suzanne, a British couple running holiday accommodation in the Pyrenees from a large property with spectacular views of the surrounding mountains. In our thirteen years here we have welcomed holidaymakers from all over the world and introduced them to our lovely area, and many have returned to visit us several times. Our two children are now in their 20s and no longer live here.

In our 5 hectares of grounds we keep geese, ducks and chickens for eggs and/or meat. Completing the menagerie are two dogs and two cats.

Outside the main summer season, when we need our helpers to stay longer, we would like volunteers to stay for two weeks, but this period can be extended if both parties are happy with the arrangement. There will generally be some preparation of guest accommodation, preparation of wood for the boiler and hot tub maintenance. This time of year there is plenty of work to do outside in the garden. In addition there is some ongoing renovation work (converting a loft space into a bedroom). We ask for a commitment of six hours per day for five days, with two days off, in return for your own accommodation, and breakfast, lunch and three-course evening meal, eaten with us. Working hours can be flexible (although tend to be less flexible on changeover days), and days off do not have to be taken at weekends.

This is an area renowned for its walking and cycling routes, and for skiing - both downhill and cross country - in the winter. We can give you advice on local activities and help you arrange them. Suzanne (native English speaker, but fluent in French) can help you perfect your French, and never tires of sharing her knowledge of raising poultry and goats.

Outside the main holiday season, accommodation will normally be in one of our comfortable guest apartments. Guest units have private bathrooms, own laundry facilities, TV and WiFi access. In the main summer holiday season, accommodation will be in our own house, with a shared bathroom. Volunteers will also have free use of our hot tub and sauna.

Volunteers must like animals and be non smokers. People who like dogs in particular and who are used to handling them will be especially welcome. Other than that, the only prerequisites are flexibility, a sense of humour and a willingness to get stuck in. In terms of catering, Suzanne has a number of dietary restrictions involving many of the things that provide the protein in vegetarian diets, and for this reason we are unable to cater for vegetarians or vegans.

For more information on what we have here, visit our website, see link above. We look forward to hearing from you!

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use