help exchange   Host 28706
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Argyll and Bute
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1
Persons: 2-3
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 28706
Country: Scotland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: December 4, 2014

I have had the best summer - big thanks to Agnes and Robin, Giovanni, Steffi and Pablo, Isaac and Hayley .. well you all know who you are :-) Much progress was made thanks to you all, and I hope you enjoyed being here.

It's winter now and things have slowed down quite a bit. But I have a few last jobs indoors and out that I could use some help with before Christmas - does anyone fancy a week out here in the wilds of Argyll? Don't expect great weather, but the forests and the mountains are still here, as well as the beautiful loch!

We are located within Loch Lomond and Trossachs National Park, an area widely considered to be one of the most beautiful in Argyll and in Scotland as a whole, with some of the best hill walking in Scotland practically on the doorstep. The waters of the loch are beautiful, and mysterious with a channel more than 80 metres deep! All around the house is incredibly rich in wildlife; Red squirrel, pine marten, otters, red deer and badgers are common, as well as seals and porpoises in the loch and eagles and buzzards on the hills.

I would like the gardens to get one last tidy and lawns mowed, maybe we could spread some new gravel over the drive, if you are able I'd like some paths outlined. And, well, there is the indoor drudgery - windows need washed, some curtains hung, maybe you could cook for me one day so I can have a day off? I've got lots of Christmas decorations and although you would not be able to stay for Christmas (deep apologies, but family will take up all available space) you could help me decorate?

Beautiful modern house and very large gardens right on the west shore of Loch Goil in Scotland's West Highlands.

The house is mainly occupied only by myself, although grown up daughter and son might occasionally come to stay for a few days. The house is a new project, so no animals yet I'm afraid - though I'm very keen to have some hens! I am a professional astrologer and writer and would be happy to give the odd lesson in the art to anyone who is interested. I'm also a very keen amateur gardener,and I like baking and cooking. Food is vegetarian, good and plentiful.

The house and gardens are in need of lots of help including log splitting, path and driveway laying, preparing vegetable plot and orchard gardens (organic) - well, again, the list is too great for this small space! Inside is in good shape, and Helpex accommodation is your own bedroom that is warm, comfortable and clean. Still, if you have electrician/plumbing/floor laying skills - I could find some indoor work for you to help with!

We are relatively remote, but there is a local hotel/bar, and a bus runs regularly to Helensburgh and Dunoon. From there you can get to Glasgow within about 40 minutes.

Please get in touch, and if you need help finding your way here I'm sure we can organise something!

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use