help exchange   Host 28738
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Kuranda
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 85
Persons: 4
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 28738
Region: Queensland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 9, 2017

We have a beautiful little farm on the banks of a lovely river. We have a new 8 week old daughter, and Marcs dad also lives with us. In addition to the four humans that live here, we also have small flocks of chickens, ducks, geese, sheep, dairy goats, cows and 2 horses. And a huge vege garden that provides us with most of our vegetables. So its pretty busy here!

What we offer -
Safe, private, comfortable accommodation in a self contained cottage.
A lovely property to stay and a river to swim in, with no crocodiles!
We can teach you lots about farming organically, permaculture, archery, photography, fire twirling, juggling, gardening, bushtucker and bush craft, cheese making... we are always interested in learning, and like to share what we have learned.
Shared dinners.
Yummy food provided, and we welcome your input into what you want to eat. A lot of our food is home grown and organic.
A friendly environment where we treat helpers as equals, not as slave labour.

What we expect -
4 or 5 hours of work a day (sometimes a little more, sometimes a little less)
Honesty and reliability
That you will tell us if you feel like the job is unsafe because you dont have the right equipment or training... we need to know so we can fix it!
That you will treat our family, land and animals with respect and gentleness.
That you will have fun!

Right now main jobs would be mowing, cleaning out the cottage to make it even nicer for help-xers, feeding the animals, helping in the garden, fencing, roofing, helping to look after our daughter, planting trees in the orchard... happy to match the jobs to what you feel like you would be good at.

Having a car will help if you want to come in and out a lot. We are not anywhere near a bus stop. We will head to either cairns or mareeba usually once a week, but the rest of the time you will probably have to amuse yourself hanging out at the dam, the river or working around in the gardens etc.

Please remember that clear communication will make this easier for both of us... if something is important to you, or if you have an idea of how we could be doing something better, just let us know with a smile on your face, and we'll usually be happy to talk about it.

So if you are interested in gardening, animals or building and would like to stay in the kuranda area for a while please let us know :)

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use