help exchange   Host 28845
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Dixie
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 480
Persons: 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 28845
Region: Victoria

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: October 17, 2017

Exciting opportunity near Great Ocean Road.

FARM and HOUSE / GARDEN HELP WANTED From NOW ! Telephone me!

This is an awesome time to be on our busy farm- Spring has the best weather! There are lots of farm jobs and projects in the garden!

We are a large dairy farm (with 400 cows) and with some token sheep (50 sheep) in south west Victoria. We have 3 young children (izzy, fin and tiah) and also have 3 alpacas (Bindy, Barney and brandy) a dog (Monty), a cat (Bolt) and occasionally have a resident koala, heaps of kangaroos by the blue gum plantations and lots of native bird life.

We are in a beautiful and magical part of south west Vic and are less than 40 minutes from the western part of the Great Ocean Road (Port Campbell, Warrnambool and Peterborough). We are also 20 minutes from lovely Timboon, 1.25hrs from Forrest, 1.5hrs from the Grampians and Lorne and 3 hrs west of Melbourne. So we can provide a great base from which to explore!

We are only 5-10 minutes drive to Terang where there is a decent supermarket (iga) and all your needs eg post office, bottlo, news agent, coffee shop, doctors, hospital etc.

HELP NEEDED FROM YOU...

1. Spring time means getting the veggie patch in order so if you are keen to learn about establishing a veggie patch and growing your own, now is the time to join us

2. unskilled farm jobs may involve the following:

- stock work (basic eg yarding up, mustering)
- firewood clearing and collecting
- going for a drive in the new tractor! (lex would be driving though)

3. Small house restoration jobs

When applying please let us know a bit about yourself such as what skills you have and what you'd like to gain from the exchange and we will try and tailor things to suit....there is much varied work to be done at our farm!

We expect 5 hrs of work a day, starting between 8 / 9 am to allow for the weekends off. Flexible work hours for a longer weekend may be considered! Both Lex and Rachael travelled (and would love to do more!) and therefore appreciate how important it is to explore in your travels!

WHAT YOU GET...

1.Lodging in a 3 bedroom house which you would be sharing with an australian girl (called Amie) who is currently employed at our farm. The house is very comfortable with a wood fireplace. It has a large livingroom with tv, new kitchen and queen bedroom. Please be respectful of Amie's belongings, tidy up after yourselves and clean your room and shared living spaces when you exit.

2. A food allowance for each worker to cook your own food.

3. Unlimited internet access for $5 a week per person

We would like you for a minimum of a 2 week stay (ideally longer) but are willing to consider shorter stays on a case by case basis.

IMPORTANT:
Your own transport would be an advantage during your stay (for you to explore the area, get your own groceries etc). However we are happy to provide a pick up to and from Terang Train Station (Terang station is on the warrnambool to melbourne line. Check vline.com.au for train times.)

You will need your own health / travel insurance. Given your work is voluntary you may not be covered by WorkSafe in the case of an accident.

Sorry, we will not accept smokers.

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use