help exchange   Host 29827
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Cork
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 10
Persons: up to 6
Category: Other
Host ID: 29827
Country: Ireland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 3, 2017

Welcome to a beautiful piece of land in the We are located in between scenic mountains in a very rural area. The nearest village is about 5 km away. The size of the land is 10 acres, divided in different parts on different heights. We have woodland areas, bogland bits and various types of little fields. There are also two stoneframed wells, a pond, a pool and a little stream. We have a big multi-functional wooden roundhouse, a changing number of tipis, yurts, bell tents and tunnels on the land, which includes also a campside for tourists. Our mission is to be as self-sufficient as possible and to set up various outdoor enterprises. The west coast and Killarney National Park are about 30 km away.

Examples of work for HelpXers:
- Organic gardening
- Planting tree and bushes
- Making and erecting native american tipis

- Rebuilding woodland areas with native plants
- Woodwork (building all sorts of constructions, benches etc.)
- Gathering, chopping and stockpiling wood
- Stonework (building dry stone walls and stone paths, stairs, etc.)
- Building living willow fences
- Building new composting toilets
- Building a warm shower system
- Groundwork and clearing new areas
- Maintenance of the land
- Domestic work
- Cooking on an open fire
- Dogwalks
- supporting guests from the campsite

HelpXer accommodation and facilities:
The communal working, kitchen and social space is a wooden round house with a very large fire-pit featured in the middle. We are developing that building every year and work is ongoing in this area. Our rustic facilities include also an outdoor kitchen with seating, a gas hob and wash up facilities. We have a functional clean compost toilet system, fresh clean well water and a stone-pool next to the stream on the land. Specifically allocated BBQ and cooking areas, most evenings are spent cooking outdoors on an open fire. Cooking good food is essential for us and our way of living. Sleeping accommodation will be a Tipi or Bell Tent. We have self-constructed wooden beds, mattresses and camping mats to sleep on, including pillows, duvets and bed linen.A bell can take up 3 persons. We usually separate women and men in different tents. Couples will also get their own bell tent to sleep in.
On top of that we have 2 camper vans and another yurt, where John lives and also 3 big tunnel-shape constructions on the land, in one of which Torsten lives together with his 3 dogs. The other two are storage and working areas.
As there is no main electricity or mainwater on the land we are getting power for our batteries, power-tools and welding from two generators if there is a need. We also have at our disposal a digger and a dumper to help us with the heavy ground work.
If you want want to have internet access or to charge you phone you could cycle with one of our bicycles to the next village into the pub (around 7 km away)

Summer season (March/April to September):
We will take up to 4 HelpXers for a minimum stay of 4 weeks as long as we and the HelpXer are both happy with the stay. We require 5 hours work per day for 5 days a week in exchange for all meals and accommodation. We are flexible with your 2 free days per week. Usually Saturday and Sunday is free time for everybody (incl. John and Torsten). There is also no problem at all if you would like to have some longer breaks in between to explore the surrounding area, the westcoast or other parts of the country for example.

Weather conditions and lifestyle in Summer:
The weather is pretty unpredictable here. Some years we have summers with lots of sun, but usually there will be more rain and slightly lower temperatures than on the continent in the Summer. Also often lots of wind and changes between sun and rain happen within the same day. We learned to accept and appreciate each type of weather every day, to stay flexible and to make the best out of it. If there is too much rain we are not working outdoors. Usually we switch towards indoor work or spend time around the fire in the roundhouse by chilling out, talking, cooking, playing darts, board games or reading books. We have a little library, as well as some musical instruments (guitar, bongos and a didgeridoo).

The weather has a big impact on our life here in general. It is the main aspect to consider every day and every week. Especially gathering and preparing wood and doing the stockpiling is an important part of our routine to secure dry firewood for the roundhouse every day. The cooking is part of the job for HelpXers and we have lots of nice recipes to cook on the fire.

What we provide:
We have lots of canadian canoes and trips on the lake could be arranged. We also have 2-4 bicycles, which can be used for trips anytime. Internet is available in the local pub. A cycle about 7 km to the local village.
We also can provide all the bedding you need for the night and lots of different clothes
( mainly for work), wellington boots, raincoats and towels.

What do we require from you:
Previous experience and knowledge in this kind of environment and work is helpful, but not essential. It is more important for us that you have a good work ethic and that you are self-motivated and connected to the work you will do (We will try as much as possible to give you that kind of work which would suit you most).To get the most out of your visit here a strong connection to nature help a lot. It is also essential for us that you are enjoying the work and your time with us here just as we do, ensuring a good time for all of us.

Land history and Philosophy:
We got this land about 6 years ago and this is the first year that we are living permanently on it. It was a process to get to this point and we can already feel the difference. We are more connected to the land, more settled and getting more back in return. This connection to the land is changing our life in an ongoing process. It is very inspiring and we are getting new ideas for the present and future. Every year developing the land and its infrastructure is transforming it more and more into the land of our dreams. We are inspired by people who live and work on their own land, following their desire to get directly in touch with the land and nature. Being creative and more healthy and happy. Following also the idea of being self sufficient as much as possible and also sharing and enjoying the land and this beautiful area with other people. With these ideals in mind we are in the process of building up a base for outdoor activities and individual tourism. Surrounded by the scenic mountains of Cork and Kerry, the Gougane Barra National Park and the Lee Valley with its chain of beautiful lakes. We also want to provide a natural enjoyable ambience for treatments and workshops or just for camping and relaxing.
Lots of different projects are coming up to make all that happen and helpers are invited to become involved in this adventure.


About us:

Torsten:
I was born in 1967 in Hamburg, Germany. After school I did different kinds of training and studies. To me, the most important outcome of those times was to find out more about who I am and what I am looking for in life. An on-going part of my life was always the joy of traveling and being outdoors in nature. After living in different alternative settings for many years, being a tour guide in Scandinavia and running a hostel in Ireland for several years I was ready to focus consistently on this beautiful piece of land in the mountains of Cork. I feel at home here. Being more in touch with the elements of nature make me feel more intense alive and more creative. It has an ongoing positive influence to my personality and my path of live.

John:aka 'heyoka spirit'
I am the co creator of this off grid project. I came to this project with over 25 years experience having lived in and constructed Tipi's and Yurts for myself personally in community settings and commercially. I spent of number of years living horse drawn where i traveled to many towns and villages across Ireland, experiencing many alternatives communities and ways of living. I have a lot of experience working with horses and I have a passion for gardening, and we will be aiming for food self sufficiency in the future
These days I would describe myself as a survivalist prepper, I'm passionate about all off grid living techniques from alternative power to long term food storage.
I am always happy to share and demonstrate some of the skills I have acquired over the years, and I look forward even more to learning new skills from different peoples perspectives that I'm certain helpers will bring to the project. 2015 saw me only able to spend short amounts of time on the project but this year with less outside commitments I'm looking forward too being more hands on.expect to learn and use every day bush craft fire lighting skills,cooking with raw ingredients and over an open fire and as I'm looking to get back into tipi manufacture pole gathering and preparing as well as cover sewing. so if any of this sounds appealing give us a call

Let us know if you want to see more pictures.
or visit us on facebook via link above.

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use