help exchange   Host 30032
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Wadebridge
All Year: see below
Area (ha): 0.58
Persons: 1-2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 30032
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 11, 2016

On a small cider farm in beautiful North CORNWALL

5-10 day stay available in August only.

We run a smallholding near Wadebridge in Cornwall, and make cider. We need a bit of help keeping on top of things especially in the garden. So far we have had HelpXers from France, Germany, Spain, U.S.A, Australia and New Zealand.

PLEASE READ CAREFULLY WHAT WE ARE LOOKING FOR AND WHAT WE ARE OFFERING.

What we are looking for:
* NON SMOKER, No drugs or drink problem
* Must be 19+ years
* GOOD spoken English
* SENSIBLE & physically fit
* Must like animals (dogs & cats) Willing to work 5 days per week (variable days weather dependent, but usually weekdays only 9am-12.30 AND 1.30 till 4.30PM)
* Some practical gardening experience - if you cant work a lawnmower or dont like getting wet - this isnt going to be the place for you!


We need help with grass cutting (ride-on and push along mower), hedgecutting, weeding, & general stuff like stacking logs. We expect you to work hard (as we do) and despite the weather, which can be VERY changeable down here in Cornwall.
We expect you to sort your own breakfast in the caravan (with food we will provide) and eat LUNCH & dinner with us on working days. We expect you to make your own arrangements for food on your days off (as we may be off site too)
We will collect/drop you at the LOCAL train station/airport etc should you need, and can loan you a bicycle & helmet during your stay.

We usually have early nights and expect our visitors to respect this.


What we are offering:
A large modern, clean caravan with toilet, shower, fridge, cooking facilities,heating. We will provide bedding & towels & washing machine. If you are a veggie or fussy eater then this probably isnt the place for you - we provide good plain cooking.
There is NO TV and wifi is only available in the house at mealtimes. WIFI is freely available in pubs & cafes etc all over Cornwall.

We are situated 1 mile outside Wadebridge,in the countryside, and there is NO public transport BUT we are happy to drop you in town for bus connections.
Nearest train station is Bodmin Parkway (8 miles), airport at Newquay (20 mins).
Nearest surfing beach 12 mins, beautiful countryside & moorland, small villages with nice pubs, The Eden Project just 30 mins away, and large towns such as Truro and Plymouth accessible by train reasonably close by.

If you need constant WIFI and entertainment this is NOT the place for you. If you are happy to muck in, and do your own thing in your own time and like QUIET country life then please do get in touch (by email please). Great location if you want to spend some time touring Cornwall or going surfing.

PLEASE ENSURE YOU BRING ENOUGH SPENDING MONEY ETC AND CHECK OUT PRICES OF FOOD IN THE UK. We have found that our Spanish visitors think our food very expensive compared to what they pay - DO RESEARCH!
You will need to bring sensible, waterproof footwear and working clothes.

PLEASE BOOK EARLY - CORNWALL IS BEAUTIFUL AND VERY POPULAR.

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use