help exchange   Host 30040
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Torquay
All Year: yes
Area (ha): 2
Persons: 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 30040
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: December 10, 2017

We are looking for people from February 2018 and for the rest of the year.

Whilst we do prefer longer stays we will occasionally take people for as little as 3 weeks. But not less than 3 weeks.

We have a small holding in Devon where we keep poultry (Chickens, various ducks, and geese) and bees. We also have cats who share our house. We have a small orchard and a Kitchen Garden plus an acre of gardens. The poultry are not for eating, but do provide us with a plentiful supply of eggs.
Although not self sufficient in fruit and vegetables we do try to grow what we can, so there is usually fresh veg in season.

All that we do here is on an organic basis often growing heritage varieties of fruit and vegetables.

The help that we need on a daily basis involves care of the poultry:
Letting them out in the morning, 8am, checking they have sufficient clean water, collecting and dating eggs.
Feeding and watering them in the evening and shutting them in their houses. Secondary egg collection.
Once a week they need a full clean out. A dirty job, but essential.

In particular we need people with some gardening experience.

With large gardens and growing our own fruit and vegetables, we also need help with grounds maintenance. This may involve some heavy digging and certainly needs some knowledge of plants, or at least the ability to distinguish a weed from a vegetable or flower. My ambition for this year is to renovate my sadly neglected garden. With many rare plants this does need someone with a good eye and either knowledge about plants or a willingness to learn.

For those of a more practical nature there are always building projects such as hen houses to make, stone walls to build, fences to be put up etc. We look for a total of 5 to 6 hours a day 5 days a week.

Please note that since much of the work is outside and we do get cold wet weather (even in the summer) please do come prepared for this with appropriate clothing. We cannot provide everything for everybody.

In exchange for this work we have a self contained cottage with it's own kitchen, living space and separate bedrooms for you to live in. We provide all bed linen and towels.

Because you have your own kitchen we provide essential food items for breakfast and a snack lunch which you prepare for yourself.
Keeping your accommodation clean and doing your own washing will also be your responsibility.

I cook a full meal in the evening for us all to enjoy together. This is our opportunity to talk, exchange views and learn about each other.
I am always grateful if you would like to share your cuisine with us from time to time.
Although we are not vegetarian we do not eat red meat and I do not buy any. Preferring fish, poultry and vegetarian meals. Providing a vegan diet would be quite difficult for us.

We live just outside Torquay in the beautiful county of Devon. Public transport does not come close to the house but there are good shops a mile (under 2Km) away and we have bicycles you can borrow. The nearest bus stop is under a mile away (about 1.5Km) and Torquay town is 15 minute bus ride away and once in Torquay there are good links to the rest of the West Country with many wonderful places to visit.
We are always happy to help you to get around on your days off. Days off are by negotiation.

We do try to live in an ecological way with pv panels supplying power on sunny days so do our best to make use of this free power by asking people to respect that by not wasting electricity or water.

Please note that some outdoor experience is very helpful.
Much of the work is heavy so some stamina is needed plus the determination to apply yourself.
You need to be prepared to muck out ducks and learn the difference between wanted plants and weeds.

Although you have your own house to live in you are sharing our home so it is really important for us to know that we will all get on well together. So when you write do tell us plenty about yourself, your likes, interests, reason for travelling, why you think you would enjoy staying with us and what skills and experience you can offer.
The more information you give about yourselves the better for us to be sure we will work well together and enjoy our social time.
We do not smoke and prefer to take non-smokers.
Please could you also make sure that you have a picture on your profile, or arrange to send us one.

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use