help exchange   Host 30094
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


County Cork
All Year: April to September
Area (ha): .55
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 30094
Country: Ireland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 20, 2017

Update: I have plenty of helpers to the end of the season this year - thanks to everyone. (cannot take any more) If you are interested in next year (April to Sept 2018) please send message early next year Jan/Feb 2018. Blessings

Town: Ballydehob, West Cork

Location: My small holding is 3Km from Ballydehob, 13Km from Skibbereen, 10Km from Bantry and 12km from Schull. Bikes available for exploring, beautiful walks into the hills nearby. The sea is 4Km from my place with many small harbours along the coast and inlets for swimming (but pretty cold!).

Accom: Attic room upstairs in new wooden house (up a ladder actually) very warm with large velux window. Also two bedrooms downstairs. Hot water, shower available any time. WiFi available.

Food: Vegetarian, including eggs, cheese and dairy (but no meat or fish). Vegan would be no problem. Good food and plenty always. (Especially welcome people interested in Vegan and Raw food preparation). It is very helpful if helpers can help with cooking sometimes.

Land: One acre mostly covered in trees with open clearing for veg growing (just starting laying out raised beds for veg), surrounded by wooded areas, some common land, and wild bog land. Three friends houses 400m away (all musicians and into organic growing, (including my lovley friends Steve and Aly who are also hosts) make up a nice community here (I might ask you to help out my friends on some occasions)

Work: Developing new vegetable beds, cutting wood, clearing land, cutting grass, help with finishing internal work on new wooden eco house (internal doors, fitting out kitchen, study, studio, two bathrooms, painting). (Plan to build new hut for timber storage, may not get round to it this year).

Pastimes: Music (I play mandola and am interested mostly in Irish Trad, Kirtan (Indian) and singing), photography (www.vincentbourke.com). I go to our local yoga/dance center sometimes for yoga and dance so helpers could do that too, or go on your own to other classes at An Sanctoir (www.ansanctoir.ie) - 4km by bicycle.

I practice yoga every morning (sometimes I miss it), I need some direction or impetus, so people interested in yoga (especially yoga teachers) welcome. At present my yoga practice is fairly easy and slow - like yin yoga and Hatha (full flow Ashtanga is too much for me, alas ... bad knee!) but encouragement, help, lessons would be appreciated)

Painting (art) is also possible (I have plenty of brushes and some acrylic paints).

Usually I would go to one or two music sessions a week, sometimes in a local pub or friends houses and you could come to those (play or sing if you are into it .. don't worry - not required! )

Experience with Helpers/Woofers: I had an organic small holding with an old farmhouse in the past (also near Ballydehob) and had many Woofers there (most of whom had a great time and enjoyed their stays, the work, the food, the music, the exploring etc). Now that I have nearly finished building my new wooden eco house, on new land, I am looking forward again to having Woofers and HelpXers coming to help clearing land, developing new raised beds, finishing work on new house, to share language and knowledge (I have completed a CELTA course in Barcelona (English language teaching cert, and speak English, Irish and French), to learn, and to explore the beauty of nature around here.

Please include info about yourself when you apply (education, experience, pastimes, interests, hobbies etc ... a few paragraphs would be fine). If you have any special requirements (allergies, food requirements, health issues/problems etc) please let me know when you apply. Don't worry - 99% of the time we can organise things so you can get what you need.

Don't worry if you think your English is not good enough - often people come who don't have good English and we all learn and share, and everyone improves after a few weeks (I learn Spanish, German etc ... and improve my languages too!).

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use