help exchange   Host 3032
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Perpignan
All Year: please ask
Area (ha): 32
Persons: 1-3
Category: Other
Host ID: 3032
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 2, 2017

Hi There!

We're situated in the Pyrenees about an hour from the Mediterranean in a lovely wooded valley on the southerly slopes of Mt Canigou. It's a sheltered site, days are usually warm and sunny all year round, though in the winter the evenings can be chilly. There are a myriad of wild flowers and herbs, as well as edible mushrooms, nuts and berries in season. Wildlife abounds, and many types of butterfly frequent the site including yellow and white swallowtails, brimstones and several varieties of blues. Light pollution is minimal so it is possible to get excellent views of the night sky. We're a mainly vegetarian family (English) (we occasionally eat fish) with a teenager, a dog and a cat, and we live off-grid (not solar but hydro-power from the river that runs through the site). We have now expanded to include several French friends on site, so if you want to practice your French, that should be no problem!

At present, we're looking for help over the summer, although other times may be possible (we prefer people to come for a week or so). We have some work on the land (clearing & wood collection) as well as various other odd-jobs eg painting. Cooking skills would also be useful as would sleeping bags!.

We would be looking for the standard 20-25 hours per week, with a couple of days off, one of which may include a trip to Perpignan and/or the Mediterranean coast. Look forward to meeting you!

Rob & the Lo Guell community

PS 1.We have just dusted off our musical instruments (sax & clarinet) after a long period of inactivity, so if you play something and care to bring it along & join in, you'd be most welcome!

2. Please note that, as on a campsite, there is a short walk to shower & toilet facilities.

Update: there have been a few personnel changes since the above was written but the site details remain the same.

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use