help exchange   Host 31091
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Cooktown
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1.6
Persons: 1 or 2 + Children
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 31091
Region: Queensland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 18, 2014

We have a 4 acre property that is working toward becoming a private botanic garden. Amongst about 50 mango trees we have avocado, star fruit, passionfruit, tropical nectarine, feijoa, lychees and other like variety, various vegetables, macadamia nuts, cashews etc etc.

Its a hobby property that takes a lot of weekend work, has a beautiful natural pool for swimming in the wet, which becomes a source of kang kong (water spinach) for eating when the tide drops a bit lower. Its a beautiful place to play, particularly with children.

In exchange for staying on our property with us we'd appreciate help with mowing, possibly cleaning, child care from time to time, perhaps cooking. I think this is something that would be better negotiated on a case by case basis. The right person might offer a lot of help in the garden, in which case we'd be more than happy to feed them an evening meal most nights (the mother of the household cooks beautifully).

We can't offer a bedroom (we're still building the rest of the house - bedrooms are in design stage) but vans and tents are welcome. You'd have access to the bathroom, kitchen, living facilities etc. The property is large enough that you could set up camp in almost complete privacy.

We have two small children (you must love children), so if you're a travelling family that would be just fine.

We're probably more comfortable with shorter stays (weeks rather than months) however if everyone gets along this is negotiable.

We have a large stupid dog with a beautiful nature, and a small puppy who is very much a puppy. Any interested person will need to love animals.

We're not hugely social people. Like early nights and don't chat much. So would be looking to live somewhat independently from our guests. We'd expect that whoever comes to stay will set up a 'camp' a little bit away from the house so everyone can maintain their privacy.

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use