help exchange   Host 3118
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Castlerea
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1
Persons: 2
Category: Other
Host ID: 3118
Country: Ireland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 8, 2015



Help now needed to build new raised beds, seven in total, work involves joining four pieces of timber together, digging out some soil, filling bed with compost then replacing soil on top.
There is always some work to do in the veg garden , weeding, digging and generally preparing for winter.
Irish autumns and winter can be variable, generally wet but not that cold. If you don't like rain Ireland is not the place to be.

Our aim is to be as self-sufficient as possible, we produce most of our own food including meat, so would not be suitable for vegans.

We prefer people who are MATURE and are environmentally aware and sociable, we enjoy good conversation and are interested in a self-sufficient life style. As we live 6k from the town we don't feel that it would be suitable for YOUNGER people and it's a long walk if you want night life, so no teenagers PLEASE!


Must be interested in organic growing if you are working in the garden,we can teach you about growing this way. The knowledge of the use of a spade and fork is essential.


Accommodation offered is a double bedroom,bath room en suit. [double bed] and full board,we expect helpers to live as a member of the family and to be willing to muck in and to be self motivated.In exchange we expect five hours work a day. There is also a bike available for a helper to use.

We are not 9 to 5 people and you can work what hours suit you best, you must have common sense and be honest and mature. We expect helpers to keep their room clean . Smoking is OK, but we will not allow the use of drugs.
We welcome OLDER people.
We prefer couples or single men. You must have common sense. We can cater for vegetarians, but cant cater for junk food eaters, all our veg is either produced by ourselves or organic from farmers markets, jam, bread and cakes home made. If you have dietary problems please inform us beforehand. We prefer longer stays, but at least two weeks.

PLEASE read our blogs before contacting us. This gives a good idea of our lifestyle and our interests and save you and us wasting time.

You must like animals, we have cats and dogs who are part of the family. We breed old varieties of pure bred chickens, and rabbits for the table. We also have ducks and a couple of lovely donkeys.

Castlerea is a small town in the West of Ireland, it is about 6k from our house and has all amenities including a very beautiful park and a river which you can walk along the banks of. There are several fishing lakes nearby, you do however require a permit to fish them. The beautiful city of Galway is about an hours drive, the nearest coast is around forty miles away.
Sorry but we can not accommodate children.

Please NOTE that our reviews prior to 2011 are from helpers who stayed with us at our previous place in Spain.

PLEASE, no bulk mailing, we will not reply.

Looking forward to meeting new helpers this year.

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use