help exchange   Host 31402
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Dumfries
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 60
Persons: 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 31402
Country: Scotland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 6, 2015

I have recently taken over a small mixed farm in Dumfries and Galloway. It is currently stocked with around 200 Black Face sheep and 30 Galloway cattle, but I have longer term plans towards creating off-grid tourist accommodation, setting up renewable energy, planting woodland, and generally diversifying in an organic and sustainable direction. I also run a small fruit and veg growing business supplying a local farm shop.
The location feels very secluded, but in reality is not too far from civilisation. Dumfries is around 7 miles away and Castle Douglas and Moniaive are both around 12 miles away. Public transport is limited, but I have bikes which can be borrowed and I am often driving to town and can offer lifts.
I have spent a great deal of my younger years travelling in various parts of the world, but am now doing my best to control my itchy feet and dedicate all my energy to this project. There is a multitude of jobs I need help with. The farm has been neglected for a long time and there is a lot of work clearing bracken/gorse and repairing fences and dykes (stone walls). For wet days or for less active volunteers there is the endless task of wallpaper stripping and painting within the farm house. I never seem to find the time. I also have a very active Collie named Lil who never says no to walks. If you have any particular skills e.g. building, joinery, mechanical, permaculture, gardening etc, I can almost certainly find you something in those areas. The tasks ahead are many! Above all though, I am just interested in hosting positive people who are keen to get involved. I am also keen to have people staying on site to look after the dog if I happen to be away for a couple of days.
I have 2 large caravans, which would suit either a single person or a couple and both of which have electricity, gas heater, cooker, fridge etc. Both are parked close enough to the house to pick up the Wi-Fi signal. The house is always open for shower, washing machine etc. This will be my first time hosting volunteers so will need to discuss how you wish to arrange food and meals. I think the easiest option will be to provide some food and let you prepare your own meals, and perhaps share an evening meal when it suits, although I'm very flexible on this.
I would expect around 3 hours work a day, and am happy if you wish to work more hours on some days and then take some days off. Thanks for taking the time to read this ad. Hopefully see some of you soon!

*I don't need any more volunteers for August 2015, but may be looking for some help again in September and October. Thanks!

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use