help exchange   Host 31448
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Blenheim
All Year: No
Area (ha): 5
Persons: 1-2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 31448
Region: Marlborough

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: October 10, 2017

We are a couple in our 60's living on a beautiful rural property just north of Blenheim. We have a small engineering business here plus a vineyard planted in Pinot Gris which we maintain ourselves and this is rather labour intensive from October to February. We have a few sheep,some hens and two cats. We try to be self sufficient as much as possible so have many fruit trees, and large vegetable gardens. Our house is modern and includes two spare rooms complete with a spare bathroom.
Helping here would be a pleasant experience because you would be fed well and treated kindly. Jobs are many and varied, depending on the time of year. Mostly, however it would be helping in the vineyard, or keeping the vege garden and section tidy. As my husband is the engineer and I am the "land girl" helping would not involve anything that I wouldn't normally do myself !! Hours would be approx 5 a day.Demand is seasonal but I only need help for a few days at a time rather than weeks at a time. Prefer mature people who can speak English and have a rural background. As my husband has coeliacs disease I do home baking and we eat gluten free healthy meals.Because it gets rather hot here during the middle of the day during summer, I am happy for my helpers to do jobs first thing in the morning and later in the day. This allows for time in the middle of the day to go swimming or to relax and see the local sights.
We are away from 2nd Nov to 9th Nov so helpers aren't required at this time, but I am open to negotiate other dates.

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use