help exchange   Host 31614
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Gisborne
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1
Persons: 1-2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 31614
Region: East Coast

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 8, 2014

We are a friendly couple with 3 beautiful children aged 1, 4 & 6 years. We live very simply on 3 acres of land that we are developing with native trees, vegetable gardens, and an orchard growing old fashioned heirloom fruit varieties. We have our own chickens and a small flock of sheep, a dog and a cat. We live in a self built strawbale home that we are still completing finishing touches on. We offer a diverse range of work including gardening, painting, child minding, cooking, building, cleaning etc

We are a down to earth family working towards being as self sufficient as possible. As time goes by we want for less and less 'stuff' in our lives and try to live more simply. We aim to eat as much organic food as possible and when the seasons and time allows, grow as many of our own vegetables and fruit as possible. Greg is a keen hunter and provides almost all of the meat for our family.

Our strawbale home, which Greg built with his own two hands along with the help of various friends and wwoofers is free from toxic chemicals ie. no treated timber, non toxic paints, oils etc.

In our spare time (we don't have much as we are always working in and around our home!) we love to surf, hunt, go camping, hang out with good friends and family and travel.

We have a dog called Punga, a crazy cat called Emo, a big pet lamb called Polly who if given half a chance likes to wander into the house and 6 chickens providing us with beautiful fresh eggs.

We live 15 minutes brisk walk from the beautiful Wainui Beach which is renowned for great surf. The city of Gisborne 'Gizzy' is under 10 minutes drive away or 25 minutes by bike. Gisborne and the surrounding area has loads to offer with plenty to do for outdoor enthusiasts - surfing, tramping/hiking, fishing, rock sliding...and loads more.

Wwoofers staying with us will be welcomed with open arms. We will respect your space and expect the same in return. As well as the 5 hours work per day expected we also wish for our wwoofers to offer common courtesies and to help out here and there with household chores such as dishes, basic cleaning etc.

Wwoofers own transport is preferred however hitch hiking into town is relatively easy and lifts can be given where it suits.

We look forward to having you to stay!

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use