help exchange   Host 31919
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


London
All Year: EARLY APRIL ONLY
Area (ha): None
Persons: 1 - 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 31919
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 9, 2018

Are you a helpful person (or couple) with DIY experience?
Would you enjoy making a natural garden a disabled person could enjoy? `
Could you come to London in April 2018?

I am a lively, 55 year "young" wheelchair user, and someone to help lay a tile floor, put up some pictures work some magic on my garden.

I've just had some major adaptations done to my flat so I can get around it independently - but the garden is still somewhere I can't get to! I also need a hand to put the finishing touches to my the decorating, for example laying a tile floor and decorating my room, finishing some cabinets. I have a degenerative muscle condition that makes it hard for me to do the DIY jobs that I used to take for granted (and enjoy). But I can still cook and offer a great hosting experience to anyone who is fit and able to help! (I also have a fabulous team of full time carers who will help you - and make your stay enjoyable!)

You'll be glad to hear live in the most vibrant and 'happening' part of London - the fabulous Brixton, with its famous market village, a food mecca and host to a million cultures. My flat is moments from a stunning city park (one of Brixton's best kept secrets) and a short walk from London's famous tube (underground) network. Hop on a bus or tube, and you can be in Central London within 20 minutes, enjoying the sights or the cool London vibe.

I am offering a HelpX experience in exchange for 4-5 hours work a day. The lucky HelpX-er will be well fed (I am a passionate cook!) and will also get plenty of time to see the City. I'll offer language lessons and guided tours if you're interested. I never tire of showing London to visitors and there are still lots of sights I haven't yet seen. We're also on a train line with direct links to other parts of Britain if you fancy going to Brighton, or up to Cambridge, or any other fabulous UK cities. We also play lots of games, talk and generally enjoy each others company.

I've been a HelpX host for many, many years, and formed some fabulous friendships. I've had HelpX-ers help me move house, decorate an old English cottage, dig out a pond, renovate a Hacienda in Spain (what a summer!) At least 4 past HelpX friends came back a second time - and some for a 3rd visit. One HelpX-er never went home and has been my paid carer for 2 years! Another fabulous pair came back so many times, I have also employed them as carers. (Be warned, you might never escape!!!) I love HelpX people and they seem to love me. I pride myself on creating a relaxed and happy environment and giving a positive HelpX experience, with plenty of free time and a proper, enriching cultural exchange.

You will have your own private bedroom (double bed) and bathroom. The house has good wifi. All food is provided at home, and I can cook vegetarian if that suits you better. (I can't manage other dietary accommodations beyond gluten free as I have quite a few of my own)

I'm happy to work to a flexible schedule, but find most HelpX-ers want to get up early and crack on with their 4-5 hours of work, before freshening up and getting out to enjoy their new surroundings.

You'll be a capable DIY person, and won't mind doing the lifting and carrying I no longer manage. I have a fabulous care team who will be on hand to help and make tea (a VERY good English habit!). It's important you like animals as you'll be sharing a London flat with a cat and a dog, both of whom are reasonably well behaved but love a cuddle and a bit of fuss.
MOST IMPORTANT +++I cannot be around smokers - even if you don't smoke in front of me and have a quick cigarette away from the house ... my very sensitive lungs will know, and I risk ending up in hospital. Sorry.

So ... if you are good at DIY and / or gardening, come and join this happy household and enjoy all London has to offer! All you need is pocket money for travel fares, food and drinks when you're out, and cash for entrance to paid attractions. But remember, most London museums offer free entry ... and all our lovely parks and wild areas too ...so you can really enjoy this city on a shoestring!

If you are free from 1st April, for a week or more, drop me a line ... I'll get back to you as soon as I can. Pippa

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use