help exchange   Host 32074
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


NELAS
All Year: variable, project based
Area (ha): 5
Persons: 4
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 32074
Country: Portugal

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 30, 2014

We are a couple (English & German) who have recently moved here to this magical part of the world.
We are in our mid 30's and have decided to leave the city behind us.
We are not a commercial farm, just a 5 hectare smallholding with various buildings, flat land and forest. We have 2 horses, 2 dogs, a cat and are in the process of acquiring pigs and chickens.
We are in the early stages of setting up a large vegetable garden with polytunnel and all building projects and maintenance are very much in their infant stages and require hands to help complete or initiate.

Gardening:
Planting, caring for and general maintenance, weeding, composting, orchard building, harvesting,
scrub clearance / strimming,
logging (on a fairly small scale)
Perimeter fencing

Building work:
We need work to be done on several buildings:
mainly rendering, plastering, fitting windows and doors. pointing
painting, interior decorating.
plumbing, electrical installation

Prepping and cooking. cleaning
Logging (albeit on a small scale)

Other work and projects:
Collecting firewood
Building a brick wood fired oven
Caring / for animals
Teepees in the woods
Restoring derelict parts of the property

Type of accommodation:
We have bedrooms in a small bungalow with a kitchen / lounge with wood burning stove and also bathroom, shower & wc. If the rooms are full (we may have others helping) then we also have space - woodland and flat land for camping either with vans or tents. We also have a large truck that we are converting into a big liveable camper.

We are looking for enthusiastic and positive people to get involved in these projects. Experience preferred but not essential. We ask that people work for 6 hours per day for 5 days a week, 2 days off and that people can stay for a minimum of 1 week, hopefully longer depending on availability :-)
We provide food for 3 meals a day, eaten either with us or cooking facilities are provided.
We look to provide space for helpers so they can have some privacy and can also look to find their own entertainment when not working, as well as socialising with other helpers staying with us.
Although we are secluded, we are not isolated. The nearest village Carvalhal Rodondo is 20 mins walk and the small town Nelas is 20 mins drive away. Further a field is the picturesque city of Viseu - 30 mins drive.
We like to drive to the west to the coast to surf on occasion, as excellent surf spots are only 1 hour drive away.
There are breathtaking cycling routes alongside rivers and forests nearby and also this region is famed for its river beaches where kayaks can be used.

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use