help exchange   Host 32353
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Kangaroo Island
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 140
Persons: variable to family
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 32353
Region: South Australia

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: October 8, 2017

Spring is here! There is hay to cut and rake, sheep to be dagged and shorn, and lots of mowing and cleaning up fire hazard material. Summer vegetables need to be sown. The Suzuki Carry has carby troubles, and the guttering has holes - lots to do!

Curlew Valley is situated 20km from Kingscote, a relatively central position on the island. Well vegetated, dissected by a beautiful gum-lined valley with a winter creek, and frequented with kangaroos, koalas, echidnas, other native fauna and birdlife. At present the night air resonates with the harmony of frogs.

We run sheep for wool and meat, and have many other domestic creatures. There are orchards, extensive gardens, and some bees. It is a genuine, though small, primary production enterprise.

Accommodation is usually in an historic style three bedroom cottage, or a self-contained caravan. The cottage is old and quite basic compared to modern homes. At this time it is preferable that you prepare your own meals with food supplied, but we can share sometimes. There is good mobile phone coverage for those on a Telstra network. We request that smoking be done outside. There is no problem with social drinking, but drunkardness and other addictions are taboo.

There is no public transport so your own vehicle is preferable, especially if you wish to tour around this lovely big island. {It has about 500 km of coastline!}

Helpers may assist in a variety of mostly outdoors tasks: livestock management, hand milking, gardening, native plants, weed control, repairs and maintenance to infrastructure and machinery, and some domestic duties. Prospective helpers should be honest about their capabilities and not give false expectations as to their skills. We like for people to do things that they enjoy, and are comfortable performing. Domestic assistance is most welcome, and age no barrier as long as helpers are able to contribute in some way.

We prefer longer term stays, and find one week a good introduction. Homeschoolers, Christians and families are very welcome. Children MUST always be under parental supervision unless by specific agreement with the host. They may assist their parents in this context, but not independently. Pets may come by arrangement.

Helpers should have a genuine interest in living off of the land, and not just be looking for exciting new tourist style experiences. If you are horrified at the spectre of a cheeky mouse invading the house this is not the place for you.

We would be particularly interested in someone who would like a lengthly stay. It is a peaceful and idyllic situation for someone who wishes to study or write a book.

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use