help exchange   Host 32360
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Maro
All Year: yes
Area (ha): 4000 square metres
Persons: 2
Category: Other
Host ID: 32360
Country: Spain

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 2, 2017

We live on a rented cliff top finca (a 4300 square meter plot of agricultural land)in Maro. The views are beautiful. It was a wasteland and we have done a lot of clearing and tree planting and settling in over the last two years. There are still many unfinished and some yet not started projects, but we have the basic creature comforts .
My aim is to achieve maximum possible self sufficiency,consuming local/own grown fresh vegetables and fruit.

We live walking distance from Maro village to the east and a lively tourist town with almost all facilities, called Nerja, to the west. There are good bus connections to Granada,the Alpujarras, Malaga and surrounding towns.
It's a lovely 15 minute trek, or a 5 minute climb and scramble down the ravine to our local beach you can see in the picture. There are other beautiful beaches that you can walk to along the coast, and lots of caves to explore. To the north there is an exquisite mountainous natural park to hike in.

I live with my son Dariush who is 26 years old, has Down's Syndrome,does not walk independently and has a palliative heart condition, so I am a full time carer, taking each day as it comes, learning to "do" in a relaxed way.
Dariush is a "master weaver", and spends a lot of time weaving squares that we turn into bags, blankets, wall hangings and he has a small stall on a couple of local craft markets to sell his creations.
Dariush would love a buddy to go out and do things with...he likes to go on his recumbent trike to Maro for a non-alcoholic beer and a tapas for example.
He wants to be independent and have his own life without my constant involvement, and as he cannot always achieve this he tends to get frustrated and can take rides on an emotional roller coaster...no other way to describe it..hence it is best if you are able to stay calm in the face of occasional difficult behaviour.

I am only able to take ideally a couple who would stay for at least a month, be willing to work 5 hours a day 5 days a week, and able to prepare own food most of the time.

I live on the east end of the finca in a bespoke wooden caravan and two mongolian yurts, at the west end of the finca 80 metres away, there is a simple wooden chalet with a terrace.
It has a bedroom and bathroom for helpx visitors or family and friends to stay in.
I use the main room and terrace for early morning daily yoga and meditation practice, at the weekends for the bhajan session and generally for a shared common room.
One project is to make turn the bedroom and bathroom into a selfcontained unit with own entrance porch, solar shower and kitchenette.
Another job is to install a woodstove in the chalet.
(Camping in tents is not allowed by the owners.)

We have the following shared amenities: an outside compost toilet. ( see picture)and a solar heated outside shower. There is a bathroom in the chalet but it is not yet ready for use.

Please only come if you are comfortable with a simple off grid lifestyle, not bothered by spiders, geckos, loud frogs,wild cats, flies, the odd non poisonous snake, very few mosquitoes, neighbours' barking dogs,and occasionally noisy spanish fiestas in the distance!
We eat vegetarian fare, I can provide fresh local/home grown fruit and vegetables, pulses and cereals, herbs and spices, small amounts of raw sheep's cheese and eggs and very occasionally local fish to be cooked outside.
All food needs to be made fresh and eaten on the same day as I do not use a fridge.

I have internet and you are willing to use it for essential matters as long as you can connect your device by ADSL cable. My home is a wifi free zone. (There is free wifi at Nerja library).

I am saving up to upgrade my solar system and plan to extend power and internet to the chalet in the autumn.


You can choose from a list of needed jobs, a project that you can work on until it is completed.
There is always watering and weeding needed. Other jobs such as scything, mulching, planting, clearing rubbish, overgrowth, pruning, irrigation maintenance and rustic building jobs mainly using recycled materials...are on the list !
together with close neighbours we are setting up a small community supported agriculture project on a finca 100 meters away with the aim to provide a local fruit and veg box scheme.

On Saturdays in the evenings we host a Bhajan singing group which often brings up to 15-20 singers and musicians most of whom are close neighbours.

Please feel free to ask any further questions.

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use