help exchange   Host 34207
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Darwin
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 2.5
Persons: max 2
Category: Other
Host ID: 34207
Region: Northern Territory

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: October 28, 2017

We are a family living 35km outside of Darwin city on a small property. We work full-time but after work and on the weekends, we run a beekeeping business.
Our bees pollinate some local farms and we also sell honey.
You would stay in our house and be expected to take part in our daily chores such as cleaning and cooking. When there is work to do with the bees, you will come to help.

We work away from the house (not doing beekeeping) during the day. The beekeeping is usually done after normal working hours (not everyday) and weekends. When we extract honey it is done in the evening.

The type of work you can expect is:
- Work with the beehives searching for Queen bees, checking for eggs and larvae
- Check beehives for honey
- Take boxes out of storage and put on hives with clearer boards when planning to take off honey
- Extract honey at home
- Take boxes back out to hives or stack in storage
- Move beehives when needed
- Check beehives on pollination
- Load truck with boxes of honey
- General maintenance of beehives
- General maintenance of equipment
- Packaging of honey

Sometimes there is not much work with beekeeping because of the weather. (We cannot predict whether it will be a good time or not.)
When this is the case we have some gardening and general household maintenance and general upkeep of beekeeping equipment, boxes and frames to do.

You would be accommodated in one bedroom with a double bed and have the use of a bathroom, which you are expected to keep clean.

In the house live:
Husband Tas
Wife Leanne
Bird - Jasper

Please note that we live out of the city (35km) and all work away from the house during the day, and the public transport system is not very good close to our home. We have internet and some mobile phone services work from inside our house.
The nearest shops are about 7km away.

We will need to know beforehand if you have any special dietary requirements (eg vegetarian, gluten free, etc).
No Smoking in the house, but outside is ok. No drugs.

Please email us if you are interested, and include some information about yourself also!

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use