help exchange   Host 34377
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Lancefield
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 44
Persons: 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 34377
Region: Victoria

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: December 12, 2015

We are currently looking for people who can help with gardening, pasture management, cutting grass and doing work around the farm.

If you are a confident and experienced horse rider, this is the place for you. We have 2 young quarter horses and if you stay with us, it is all about the horses. We ride Western but English riders are very welcome as well. So, if you are passionate about horses, this is the place for you. But if you just like to enjoy life on the farm that's fine too!

We live on a 108 acre property about 1.5 hours northwest of Melbourne. There is always more work on the farm than we can manage ourselves - gardening (lots of weeds, unfortunately which means that we do a lot of weeding), cleaning horse stalls, keeping stables and paddocks clean, wood cutting, grass slashing, fencing, brush clearing, etc. So, we are looking for helpers who are keen to get involved in outdoor activities and help with lots of small farm projects. This is physical work, so it is quite important that you are physically fit!

If you are someone who enjoys the outdoors and actively wants to enjoy life on a farm you will find it with us.

We expect about five hours of work per day in exchange for room and board but this is very flexible. We are a couple in our mid fifties. I work from home most of the time and my husband works on the farm. We like to cook and enjoy home cooked meals with our guests but sometimes you will need to serve yourself, when we are busy. It is expected that you help with meal preparation, doing the dishes, shopping and just pitch in and help to keep the house clean. The duration of your stay is flexible, but around one to two weeks is usually best. You would stay in one of our guest rooms with your own bathroom. During your stay we like you to become "part of the family" and we expect that guests are reliable, neat, clean and respectful. We speak English but understand German, French, Italian and Spanish.

Our property is fairly remote, but there is transport to Melbourne which can be easily arranged if you want to enjoy city life on the weekend. There are also nice places to visit in the area. We only have satellite internet which is unfortunately quite slow and download of data is restricted. Mobile phone reception remains very patchy.

We can accommodate one guest or a couple and look forward to hearing from you.

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use