help exchange   Host 34472
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 3
Persons: 1 - 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 34472
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 22, 2018

Dear ‘HelpX’ers, I would like to think that this is a community, a community that help each other in times of need. I would like to tell you about two completely different sets of circumstances that we have had within the last 6 months.

Firstly last October, we were contacted by a young Italian gentleman who was desprately unhappy in his choosen ‘HelpX’ location. He asked if he could possible come to us. We said yes, although we did not have any vacanies at the time. As we were contacted over a weekend with very little possiblilty of local public transport and the desperation in the young man’s mesages, Colin drove over a 100 mile (160 km) around trip to collect him. He was suitably greatful for the help and kindness that we showed to him. He stayed with us until Christmas

Our second tale goes like this….. In mid January a German young lady telephoned us one night and asked if she could possibly come to us. She had just arrived at her second ‘HelpX’ placement, having really enjoyed her first experience. So she was full of hope and excitement, the excitement was very short lived, it was an aweful place in the back streets of London. She was expected to sign a contract, which she refused to do and she told the ‘Host’ that she did not want to stay.The host charged payment for the two nights of accommodation. Our German young lady is due to leave us later this week. She has had a wonderful time with us and will greatly miss the company when she goes back to Germany.

Now to tell you about the difficulty that we are currently facing….. We are in need a of little help. Colin and I have to leave our small holding to travel to The Netherlands to attend a ‘Patchwork and Quilting’ exhibition connected to our business (we travel 10th April and return the following Sunday). Just to add a complication into this we have to attend a local exhibition the weekend before. we need two people on the farm while we are away. We will teach you how to handle the everyday running of the farm. That is why we ask for help from about the 26th March (or sooner)until at least the17th April.
Hello prospective HelpX'ers

We are currently looking for one or two people to join us around the 24th March and to stay for a minimum of 4 weeks.

***WARM*** clothes - working coat/jacket and wellington boots ARE essential, please let us know if bring wellington boots is a problem as we have some that may fit.

We would like to introduce ourselves, we are Colin and Suzi. We live on a smallholding (which is a small 'Working Farm') on the edge of Ashwater village which is set in the quiet Devon countryside. The village of Ashwater has a small village shop which is also our local post office and a nice village pub.

We are within driving distance of the very beautiful coastlines of both Devon and Cornwall, as well as both Dartmoor and Bodmin moors.We have two small towns that are about 12kms away Launceston and Holsworthy, these have bus services to interesting locations such as Plymouth, Barnstaple and Exeter.

Now to tell you about our 'family' which consists of the two of us, two dogs (Biscuit & Bolt) and one small hand-reared 3 year old kitten (he will always be my kitten) called Otto (Our animals live in the house with us). The barn and paddocks are home to 25 chickens, 4 ducks, 1 drake, 5 nanny goats (2 of which we are currently milking), 1 billy goat, 1 Aberdeen angus cow and one Bodmin moor pony.

The day starts out with the intention of being organised, but this rarely works out. We try to start with breakfast, then milking the goats and feeding the other animals. Our chickens are let out around 11am when the eggs are collected. Once back in the house we deal with the milk and eggs. After which it is coffee time!

Lunch is aimed at around 2pm, generally a light meal e.g. cheese on toast or poached eggs.

Afternoon tea (tea & cake) is around 5pm and 7pm is when we aim to go out for the evening milking and feeding.

Our main meal of the day is the evening meal, this is usually eaten around 9pm after doing the evening milking.

We are a meat eating family and the type of meals that we eat, mean that it is difficult to cater for vegetarians (so we are sorry, but no vegetarians please), we eat the meat that we produce on the small holding, for instance pork, lamb and goat, we enjoy good home cooked food. Breakfast is usually cereal, with fruit and home-made yoghurt, lunch is generally a light meal and dinner the main meal of the day served up after the evening milking. Our helper can help with meal preparation, but not cook for themselves.

We use our own goat’s milk as our house-hold milk. If you have any dietary issues please discuss it with us before you decide to come.

Our house is a bungalow with a main bedroom up-stairs, all the other rooms are at ground level. The accommodation for our ‘helper’ is a large double room at the front of the house.

We have a wide variety of jobs that we would like help with, some need to be done daily, while others are weekly or monthly jobs and then we also have one-off jobs.

Ideally we would like our helper(s) to work 5 hours a day each, but the time is based on how long we expect the jobs to take - not how long it takes you. This would be for 5 days a week in return for all meals, accommodation and a lot of laughter. Days off and hours worked are by mutual agreement, we are not rigid with work hours and so can be quite flexible. Some of the time you would be helping us with the jobs to be done, especially during the 'learning period' but then we expect you to do the jobs alone. Sometimes we have to be away for a few days, so we expect you to run the house and farm during that time.

We do like our helpers to stay a minimum of 3 weeks - This is because we have a lot to teach new helpers and this takes time. The first 3 - 4 days we would be working with you and then you would need 2 days off, so that is the first week gone....

Job areas are as follows:
Milking goats.
Feeding and watering all farm animals.
Collecting eggs.
Cleaning and sorting eggs.
Feeding and watering house pets.
Barn - cleaning and mucking out.
Field work - fencing.
Garden - Landscaping.
Vegetable plot - weeding, digging, de-stoning and planting.
House – painting both inside and out.
General cleaning and tidying outside.

***WARM*** clothes - working coat/jacket and wellington boots ARE essential, please let us know if bring wellington boots is a problem as we have some that may fit.

We have wireless internet access for browsing, email and Facebook only due to a limited monthly download allowance.

We look forward to welcoming you into our home.

If you send us a message, we will make every effort to reply.

If you send a message and we reply with an offer of dates for you to stay with us, PLEASE REPLY - even if you decide to decline our offer, as we can then move forward to offer the dates to the next HelpX'er.

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use