help exchange   Host 34571
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Melbourne
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 0.1
Persons: 1
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 34571
Region: Victoria

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: December 7, 2017

Help 2 hours per day.
Vegetable gardening experience required or if you're genuinely willing to learn then this is fine also - we have some good books and there is loads of information online, but you'll need to study in your own time and be able to identify vegetables and weeds and be able to grow vegetables from seeds.
Some food is provided but you'll probably need to purchase your own also.
No smoking on the property.
Length of stay around 3-7 days which is negotiable and subject to change by either party.
Read on for more details.

HOW YOU CAN HELP:

The vegetable garden needs weeding and planting. It would be good to get more seedlings started so we have a continual supply ready to plant out or give away. I'm trying to establish a potted garden in the driveway and there's much work to be done here. Also the chickens need food and water every day.

WHO WE ARE:

We are 3 guys and 2 girls, aged 25-35, sharing this harmonious homely house in Moonee Ponds. We are friendly and relaxed people and this is reflected in the vibe of the house.

ABOUT OUR HOUSE:

The house features 4 bedrooms, spacious lounge and kitchen, laundry, separate toilet and bathroom, bungalow/workshop and steam room. There is a small vegetable garden and chicken yard.

Helpers are welcome to use the kitchen, lounge, laundry and other shared spaces - make yourselves at home! There is wifi internet and a front load washing machine. There is no television.

Helpx guests can stay in the bungalow. There's a double futon mattress and all bedding provided, space for your things. It's basic accommodation but during the mild times of the year, Spring and Autumn, it's really quite okay.

FOOD:

There is some free food growing in the garden and plenty of eggs from the chickens. There is also tea and coffee, some home brewed beer as well as oil, rice and muesli. There is some free food left by previous guests. I'm also happy to show you how to sprout legumes and share these. Apart from that you'll need to buy your own food - I can show you some very cheap places to buy food.

LOCATION:

We are in Moonee Ponds near the Maribyrnong River. By train, tram or bicycle it takes about 30-40 minutes from our front door to the city. There are many good shops and supermarkets in Moonee Ponds, just 5 minutes by bicycle.

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use