help exchange   Host 34727
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Lower Hutt
All Year:
Area (ha):
Persons: 1 - 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 34727
Region: Wellington

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: January 11, 2017

At the moment we could use some help mostly with gardening in our overgrown and ignored back garden and with some housework.

We are a German/Kiwi bilingual family with four young children. Our house is literally at the edge of Lower Hutt and offers the best of both worlds: Being connected to public transport to get to Wellington City, as well as peace and quiet away from it all. The quietness is definitely being interrupted at times from the noise of our 4 young children :-)

We'd like to have a helper from Germany (or elsewhere that's natively German speaking) who is willing to help with general house work, gardening and property maintenance.

Housework may include: house cleaning (cleaning bathrooms, toilets, sweeping or vacuuming and washing floors, cleaning windows and doors cupboards, dusting etc.). Tidying up after meals is a a regular thing to do (clean up table and kitchen benches, loading and unloading dishwasher, cleaning floor and messy chairs). There is also a fair amount of hanging up and folding of washing to do, as well as some tidying up of kids toys and clothes. Helping with meal preparation might come up and if you like cooking & baking you could do some of that too.

Some sanding & painting of furniture might come up as a task on occasion.

Gardening may include: weeding, vegetation removal, restacking wood (requires lifting of wood).

We won't necessarily ask you to do all of these things, it depends on what needs done and what your skills are.

Hours are flexible depending on your sightseeing plans, but overall 4 h per day.

You'll eat with our family. We can give you travel advice in exchange for your hands on help. You will have your own room (clean and warm) or share one room with two individual beds if there are two of you. We like you to stay for one week (or so). No smokers. We don't have TV but a cosy wood burner and central heating. We don't have any animals.

This should work well if you are planning to take the ferry to the South Island next or have just arrived in Wellington. You can walk to our place from the bus or train station, but depending on our availability we tend to arrange pick ups and drop offs as well if you are without a car.

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use