help exchange   Host 35012
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Saint Laurent les Bains
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): approx. 1 hectare
Persons: 4 !
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 35012
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 19, 2017

SPECIAL ANNOUNCEMENT - SPRING/SUMMER 2017

As we are expecting a baby around end of may/early June, we are looking for independent people (ideally pairs or couples).

If you feel like doing some gardening on your own and taking care of our animals, we would love to host you!... For the time being, we haven't taken much time to do any gardening at all, but we would love some enthusiastic HelpXers to make the most of our beautiful terrassed garden (plenty of tools and seeds available !).
Obviously, we won't be 100% available to take time with you.

Robin loves to meet new people as well, and if you feel like going for walks with a 2 and a half year old kid, we will enjoy having responsible babysitters at home !

---------------------------------------------------

Hello! We are a young couple (in our 30's) living in the mountainous (800m altitude) Cévennes region (Ardèche, south-east Massif Central) in a very remote village. It is wild and perfect for nature lovers and for those who are interested in an alternative way of living.

We are building up a small farm mixing various activities such as: organic gardening on mountainous terraces, permaculture experiments, ecological bramble clearing (with 2 goats and 2 llamas), chicken coop, honey bees, ecological building (cob, woodwork, etc...), wild crop harvesting, drying and processing. We also brew cider from our apples and make elderberry flower lemonade, herbal teas, jams and preserves... We have 3 dogs and a hungry cat family!

We have various tasks which we'll briefly talk about...

For the time being, we have to do some work on the interior of our house such as: natural earth and lime plasters, home made natural paint, cob (building with mud and straw), slate tiling, woodwork in various parts of the house (making cupboards, dry toilets etc).

Regarding outside work, we would like to build up more fences to keep our animals in specific areas.
There is also work to be done on the garden from time to time, especially during springtime. If you are here whilst we are doing cider, lemonade, fruit picking, preserve making etc we would be happy to have some helping hands...

We are happy to welcome couples with children (and even babies) as this is a positive helpX experience for our toddler as well! Any babysitting skills will be appreciated!

Our interests : travelling, hiking, rock-climbing, nature contemplation, healthy-living, drawing, painting and art in general, music, etc...

Fern is from Yorkshire (England) and has a project of opening a creative workshop and tea salon.
Thomas lived and studied in Orléans and Blois (France) but has his family origins in Ardèche. He works as a landscape architect from his home-office.

From March 2009 to July 2010, we traveled from Ardèche to India overland and we've written a 'carnet de voyage' travel book. We like to share our experiences and we would be glad to welcome you in our remote area!

If you don't have any means of transport we can pick you up at the nearest train station : "la Bastide-Puylaurent". Hitch-hiking and car-sharing are also good means of reaching our valley...

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use