help exchange   Host 35082
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 3
Persons: 1
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 35082
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: January 15, 2018

Hi, we are John and Stephanie, semi-retired active hosts interested in history, art, poetry and folk music as well as farming. We are really interested in hosting friendly sociable volunteers so we can also learn about your life and culture.
Are you available to help us for a few weeks and learn more about our old-fashioned way of life?
Do you like horses and other animals? We need help with stable duties, field work, gardening and some housework. You will live in our home as part of the family which sometimes includes our elderly mother and our student son. In exchange for around 5 hours work per day (flexible) we offer full board and all meals are included. We home cook good quality meals from basic ingredients and buy locally sourced produce and are happy to cater for vegetarians as most of our meals are vegetarian. Please note we only accept non smokers. Our home is an unmodernised Victorian farmhouse full of antiquity situated on the edge of a small farming village in the Midlands near Rugby. We have 2 horses but at the moment cannot offer any riding as one is retired and my young paint horse has just starting her training. We also host a Riding for the Disabled group once a week in our sand school. Our large natural garden with orchard needs regular maintenance and we grow a few seasonal organic vegetables. Field work includes pooh picking, hedging and repair tasks. We have two cats and several free range chickens. If you would like a unique historical home stay then please contact us. We can also show you traditional English culture, folk music, village events and local places of interest. Our quiet village has a pub but no shop, the nearest town is 5km away and can be reached by bus.
We can offer help to improve your English language skills including pronunciation and grammar.

Please tell us that you have read our profile, why you have chosen our place and what you can offer that is relevant to our lifestyle. Thanks.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use