help exchange   Host 36045
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Wellington
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1400m2
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 36045
Region: Wellington

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 21, 2017

We are a German-Kiwi family living in the fabulous suburb of Wilton in Wellington. We have three children, Teo (6), Amber (5) and Vinzent (1) who are all wonderful, curious and intelligent beings. Our house is situated a 10 minute car ride into Wellington central, yet peacefully at the top of a hill, with Te Ahumairangi Hill starting literally from our back yard and a view stretching out over the western hills in front of us.

We lead a healthy, non-smoking lifestyle with a semi-vegetarian (we basically don't cook meat) diet. In addition to raising the kids in a semi-traditional setting, we are also busy with gardening projects involving vege gardening, weeding, making a compost bin, looking after the chickens and general maintenance. We are also trying to transform the garden into an experience playground and are doing some minor house renovations and maintenance projects, outside and in.

We are looking for helpers with trade or handyperson experience. Although ideally gardening or building, it doesn't matter too much what the trade or area the handywork is in. We most need people that like working independently and can get to grips with projects like painting some of the house and a hut, helping with re-roofing, and working further on the garden to make it both more adventurous for the kids and more productive for food.

This means being able to work out how to get each activity to completion using your own skillset and the resources around you. None of the jobs are particularly complex, but will require things like operating power and hand tools, knowing which tools and accessories to use for various jobs, and how to solve practical problems.

We are open to either a couple or a single person. If a couple then we would also look for some assistance around the house, both with the kids and the household jobs from cleaning to cooking.

We live in a fun and creative environment and we love to have fun and enjoy ourselves. Helpers will be a part of the family, have a room with large double bed for themselves in the house, unlimited WiFi and access to bikes for getting into and back from town, and exploring the city/environs.

In terms of timeframes, we are looking for people to start from early December (around 4th, but with some flexibility) and to stay with us for a period of 1-2 weeks. We are also looking for people in their mid 20's or over.

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use