help exchange   Host 36250
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Ashburton
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 4
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 36250
Region: South Canterbury

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: December 27, 2016

Here @ Wakanui Beach my husband and I are the only permanent residents. There is 7 bachs ( holiday homes) of which we own 2.
We have 4 very well behaved dogs, 2 of which are Boarder Collies, 2 cats, 2 budgies, and 4 hens. There's a lot of N.Z. history here, and walking along the beach, it's quite likely you will see Hector Dolphins playing, and find semi precious stones on the beach called Agates. No swimming @ this beach as there is a trench just out from the beach, but plenty of fishing, and this year the fishing is great! We would love to meet people that are builders, architects, and horticulturist. But really we just like meeting a general group of people. The jobs are not hard, and no work if its raining ....
In exchange for either 3 hours work in our garden, or helping me with painting or whatever is required you will get accommodation in our lovely housebus. Its got a great lounge with a fire, fabulous kitchen with fridge etc, separate toilet and shower room.The bedroom has a queensize bed. Please note: The toilet is a chemical one, that you will need to empty approx every 3 days, not difficult, or yucky, but will need to be done. . Power is by solar power, which stores in a large battery, plenty of power... and our water, well it's pure. Comes from 80mtres below ground, artisan water in it's purest form.
My husband Alan, works away each day, as a maintenance engineer for a local company. I am a fibre artist, hand spinning fleece's and making yarns and original garments that go all over the world. I'm keen to do more mosaic paths and adobe walls around a new hen house.Happy to show you how to hand spin or learn to knit, maybe you'd like to learn to decoupage, or you have a craft you could show me?
We are only 15mins from Ashburton which has a great shopping centre, handy to ski fields, trout fishing, tramping etc. We use solar power and generators. Please note: this is a place with genuine Kiwiana, meaning, ... Off the grid power, but solar power that creates power into a battery, so you have lights of coarse. Hope we hear from people that will love a true Kiwiana experience.PLEASE NOTE; That although we are only 17klms from Ashburton shops, we would prefer it if you had your own transport. There is no bus route available. I'm happy to teach you hand spinning and Al would love a partner to go fishing (plenty of spare fishing rods) We would like people for gardening, painting, some cooking, a bit of housework occasionally, dog walking, and to meet others from other countries and exchange idea's. Please contact us you'll love this piece of paradise!

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use