help exchange   Host 36484
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Glass House Mountains
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): .4
Persons: 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 36484
Region: Queensland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: December 7, 2016

Merry Christmass and a happy New Year. And a huge thank you to all the wonderful HelpX workers that have been with us since we started two years ago. You have made a huge difference to our property and our lives'.

We are always looking for adaptable, hardworking people, over the age of 24, with bags of enthusiasm, energy and a desire to learn and contribute..

We are just outside of the Glass House Mountains township, with breathtaking views of the sensational Glass House Mountains.

We are a well-travelled semi-retired couple, living a simple life, with a goal to be as sustainable as is possible on just under 3/4 acre.

We have a large organic vegetable garden and orchard, a shade garden, native gardens, lawns and a chicken run.

Accommodation is in our home, which, when not used for helpers is operated as an organic B&B.

You will have your own room, and there is a separate lounge with TV, DVD player and a stack of films for you to enjoy. We also have broadband WiFi access, so you can stay in touch with friends.

We are both good cooks and provide three good-quality meals a day, including home-made bread. You will eat with us and hopefully enjoy being a part of an Aussie family. Food is organic and a mixed, meat-based diet and we do cook with herbs and spices. So, if you do not like spicy foods, this is not the place for you.

We would enjoy teaching you how to garden organically, share many hours of chatting about our various lives, culture, interests.

I love to teach people that are interested how to cook, bake bread and make dinner from seasonal produce.

And of course we also love to take you out to show you our spectacular countryside and the occasional day out on our boat or four-wheel driving.

We formally work Monday to Friday and in summer months start early, at around 5.15am and finish at around 10am (earlier if we have finished our jobs for the day) with a short break at around 8am.

After that time, and at weekends, apart from helping with shared chores (we do insist that your room and shared areas are kept clean and tidy at all times) and helping with meal preparation and clearing away, the rest of the time is yours to spend how you wish.

On the weekends we do ask you take one day of the weekend to explore independantly, to give us some free time alone in our home. Other than that, you are free to stay here, or to visit other areas for the weekend if you choose.

Helpers must be responsible, non-smokers, no drugs, and absolutely no heavy drinking.

Please remember this is an exchange and needs to be fair for both parties. We provide great accomodation and lovely, organic food and in return we ask for a good five hours work five days a week. If you are staying for two weeks we will happily feed and accomodate you over the middle weekend.

We ask you to arrive on Sunday afternoon and unless you are staying on for a further week, or we have agreed to an alternative leaving day or time, Friday afternoon is leaving time. After work is completed and you have eaten lunch, you are required to clean your room, your bathroom and your sitting room and arrange to vacate by mid-afternoon.

We like to have you stay at least five consequtive working days. Longer stays may be possible for the right people.

If you are interested in learning how to be more self-sufficient, in addition to how to grow your own food, I am happy to teach you how to make fresh bread, cook, preserving (jams and chutney) making of yogurt, cheeses, butter and fermented and raw foods.

If you would like to learn something specific please ask and if it is possible we will help you.

Come and join us for a happy, healthy, fun stay :)

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use