help exchange   Host 36622
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Tarragona
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 75
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Other
Host ID: 36622
Country: Spain

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 5, 2017

WE WOULD APPRECIATE YOUR HELP FOR MARCH & APRIL (Priority given to longer stay Helpers)

Help welcome all year round for land clearance, veggie gardens, animal care, and general farm maintenance.

About us:

Hi, my name is Victor. I am a naturalist, behaviorist and professional animal trainer, lecturing in Universities around the world. My main focus is in Ethology (the study of animal behavior in a natural setting), specializing in Equids (mainly horses) and Canids (mainly dogs).

I live on the farm with my 8 year old son and 5 year old daughter, a dozen horses, 3 dogs, 1 cat-dog and several chickens.

Spanish, English, Tagalog (Filipino) and Catalan spoken on the farm.

I don't follow any trendy belief systems and just get by as best as possible with life on the farm with great respect for natural processes. Our veggie garden is an attempt at self sufficiency of the vegetable kind, and we do avoid all harmful chemicals and practices.

About the farm:

Mas Cabot (our farm) is about 800 meters away from the emblematic town of Santa Perpetua de Gaia (Tarragona), and about 10 kms from the larger Santa Coloma de Queralt.

The farm is surrounded by lush pine and evergreen oak forests, and matorrales (scrublands). The Gaiá river meanders through the bottom part of the farm, leaving in its rugged path small pools where one can swim in the hotter months. Great hiking/biking trails both in and around the farm.

The main house and adjoining annex are typical Catalan stonework constructions (Masia). The farm is off-grid but the house is fully solar powered (48V). Charging laptops, tablets and phones are no problem. In winter it can get quite cold in this area, and e heat the house with Biomass and wood from our forest. Please be prepared for cold weather. Everyone is expected to help keep the fires running and collecting firewood.

About helping:

We can cater to 1 or 2 Helpers at a time. Helpers that can stay for over two weeks are preferred and given priority, although lesser duration stays are also welcome depending on project workloads.

You would work 6 hours daily, 6 days a week, with one day off. Work times are flexible and depend on the time of year, weather conditions and the work at hand.

A private room is provided for you in the main house, and you are always welcome to our meals, even on your day off. We eat meat, but can cater to vegetarians, or if you prefer to cook its a bonus as we like all types of different cuisines. Help keeping things tidy around the household is expected.

There is mobile phone coverage in some areas of the house (not all phone companies have coverage in the house...but surely you will have some around the farmland). Limited WiFi is also available for checking your mails and suchlike.

The farm is somewhat isolated, but with easy access by road. There are daily buses to and from Barcelona and Tarragona to Santa Coloma de Queralt, where we can arrange pick-ups and drop-offs. here are the PDF files with bus schedules. Re-check schedules on the bus company website to ensure they are up to date.

From Barcelona
http://www.igualadina.com/pdfs/gui_bcn.pdf
From Tarragona
http://www.igualadina.com/pdfs/tar_igu.pdf

Looking forward to meeting and sharing our farm and family life with you. See you soon!


Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use