help exchange   Host 36863
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Waitakere City
All Year: Not NZ school holidays
Area (ha): .2
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 36863
Region: Auckland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 21, 2016

Hi, Winter has arrived in Huia. So when it's fine it is very beautiful and when it's raining it is very beautiful, but very wet! Huia is an absolutely stunning coastal rural environment, and we are right on the edge of the Manukau harbour with beautiful bush walks and gorgeous beaches.

We have a couple of big projects on the go at the moment. The main one is water flow management and drainage by the house. This has been started by us, but needs continuing. It involves digging and shifting soil. We also want to make an outside composting toilet. There are some other light building maintenance, weeding and gardening jobs to do. You need to be self motivated and get along with jobs on your own. So bring your great personality and enthusiasm!

There is one other job for a talented carpenter/wood worker, and that is restoring the wooden desk of an old fashioned treadle sewing machine.

Make sure you are prepared to work outside, at the moment especially on rainy days that means raincoats and waterproof boots! 4 hours per day work is what we would like you to do. We would recommend starting at 9am and finishing at 1pm, to give you the afternoon to explore and enjoy our beautiful coastal environment. I am happy to provide a good breakfast and evening meal, and a light lunch. If you require more food than that please bring your own extras to snack on.

If 4 hours is for some reason too long for you, then a solid 3 hours is acceptable, and as a compromise we ask you look after your own meals. :)

We have a comfortable caravan a good distance from the main house so you have plenty of privacy. There is a double bed in there and a seat that could be a bed, but it's not very wide.

It would be an advantage for you to have your own vehicle, in order to make the most of this area and because there is no public transport out here other than the bus service to Laingholm, which is 8.7km from our house. Hitch-hiking is quite common on Huia road.

We can do pick ups from stop 5485 on Huia Road with the Laingholm 170, 171 or 172 bus service. You can look at www.at.govt.nz for full timetables or try this link. https://at.govt.nz/media/1331056/w09_titirangi_laingholm_oct-2015-web.pdf

You will be living with a family with school age children (10 and 11), so we would love to see some good references if you have them. We value high levels of responsibility, kindness, fun and honour as personal traits of the people who stay in our home. Also, the children hate the smell of smoke, so it is wonderful if you don't!

We welcome new friends we haven't yet met, to share our table, have some good laughs and enjoy helping us make our environment even more beautiful than it already is.

Best wishes
Rachel & Joe

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use