help exchange   Host 36870
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 5 acres
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 36870
Region: Queensland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: December 28, 2017

We are a couple in our middle 60's,and early 70's who live in a large 3 level house with a swimming pool set in 5 acres of land outside the town of Malanda in a beautiful part of Far North Queensland on the Southern Atherton Tablelands ,Australia. We love having company . We regularly host Japanese Home/ Farm Stay students from organisations based out of Cairns & Melbourne. We are excellent cooks having owned and operated a Roadhouse in Georgetown and the Tree Kangaroo Cafe in Malanda in the last 23 years, We have been retired for 11 years now, and although only home cooks we will feed you very well (no noodles or rice). The Canadian work-away guy we had here in 2014 experienced 60 different evening meals while here in the two months he stayed. We have hosted over 580 Japanese students, 40 American Uni Students and about 45 volunteer helpers. We prefer non smokers, if you smoke, out in the open back yard is preferred. Drinking will be allowed during the Evening Meal, those alcoholic beverages must be provided by the worker. We mainly drink water ourselves.
No illegal drugs will be tolerated.You will be asked to provide your passport for us to make a copy, the only formal form of I.D. we ask for.
We have a 5 acre property ,but 3 acres is devoted to our 2 steers "Caramello" & "Blackjack" We have about 60 chickens, 2 Geese & 5 Guinea Fowl and more baby chicks.
The object of the exercise is to find willing workers to weed gardens, clean up a driveway of Palm fronds and fallen tree branches and may be even some painting also some cleaning if required.
We can accommodate up to 2 people in our 2 only queen size bed , bedrooms or the dormitory with 6 single beds we have for our Japanese students.
We have a conservatory leading onto a swimming pool area.It is now Summer and the pool has become warmer during the day now. Our daily programme is Breakfast at 8 am, Work at 9 ,lunch at 12 noon ,then rest for 3 hours, restart at 3 pm finish at 5 pm,(From 12 to 3 pm ) it is the hottest time of the day in summer, then dinner around 6 pm. Lots of time for Sun baking, Swimming and exploring.
Your work is 5 hours a day, 5 days then have a day off which is always a BBQ Lunch and a tour of the area.
We now have Wi-Fi and the NBN Network and the new computer has allowed me to now upload all required photos for HelpX profile site. We have a vacancy for 7 days from about the 16 th of January 2018..
Kind Regards.
Thanks John & Dianna.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use