help exchange   Host 37231
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Adelaide
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 1 female or a couple
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 37231
Region: South Australia

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 23, 2017

Currently in recovery from cancer treatment and am in the preparation stages relocating to a different residence I am looking for a helpers from now till 19 October as have someone from 19th - 31 October.

If you would be available for any length of time I would really appreciate the opportunity of hosting you in my home in Adelaide. I do generally try and not make the work the main focus of my guests stay but rather too involve them in life around Adelaide.

I do have some food allergies (seafood) and find it difficult at present tolerating anything spicy. Due to health I am mostly eating soft foods. For these reasons and the fact I am not working at present I am barely affording my living expenses, hence I prefer guests by their own food or for us to share costs.

I can tell you where to source things more cheaply. However if guest does do any cooking for myself I would supply ingredients required for meal or if cooking for myself and guests together I would expect to share cost of ingredients fairly. Plus I know of a couple place we can source some free vegetables and fruit on a regular basis and other cheap food.

I am looking for people with skills in either Cooking, Sewing, Household maintenance, Gardening, Carpentry, Do it yourself renovations, Website and computer skills. People with other skills are welcome as well.

My house is located not far from the Gilles Plains shopping center. Gilles Plains is about 13km from City Centre so I am still based in the Adelaide metropolitan area and am not in a farm area. Also trying to find ways of minimising the use of water and other utilities in order to keep living costs down to a minimal.

There are many buses from and to the city which is only a 15 min -40 min bus ride depending which bus route you utilise.

You can easily access the Botanical Gardens, the Museums, Rundle Street Mall and the Central Market and Adelaide Zoo. There is also a bike path nearby that goes all the way into the city along the Torrens River but unfortunately do not have a working bike I can loan you.

The shopping center nearby has a Woolworths and an Aldi & their are plenty of places nearby to eat. There is also a bigger shopping centre nearby by bus with a massive 2nd hand store.

Some of the jobs I am looking to get done are:

Weeding, Dismantling Garden Beds,

Unpacking/Packing some boxes
Cooking meals & Housekeeping
Pricing, Taking photos of and cataloguing craft items and other items to be sold at a Garage Sale.

I do want to be fair though to my guest so seeing I will not be providing food I will only ask Helper to do 2 -3 hours/per day with 2 days a week off. You will get your own room, which has a bunk bed, small dresser and camping wardrobe. You naturally will also be able to use bathroom and the kitchen and laundry during your time here.

Rest of your time can explore Adelaide. I possibly will not have to show you around some places myself but can provide advice on where to go and how to get there.

I would love to be able to afford to supply helper with food but as I do not have regular paid work I unfortunately cannot. You will need to buy own food or we can share costs of food.

I will be given preference to people that:

a) Person/s with a car and valid drivers license is always a big plus but not essential.

b) Communicate with me each evening as to what there plans are for next days so I can negotiate with them any jobs I need assistance with around what they need to do.

c) Provide at least one weeks notice of planning to arrive but the more notice the better.

d) Respectful of my belongings - if they use something or move something put it back where it belongs. I am well aware accidents can happen so if something is damaged or broken let me know straight away so it can be repaired/replaced.

e) People willing to rise early (eg 7am). That way you get some work done and have the rest of the day to exploring Adelaide.

f)People who will complete task at hand and not leave job half unfinished. This includes putting any tools away and putting back anything you may have needed to move to complete task efficiently.

Please during your stay do be considerate with your use of Electricity, Water and internet as I do pay for both and am financially struggling to make ends meet.

Internet at this point is limited data. I have found out Skype does tend to use up a lot of data so please limit use of skype or any downloads. There are a couple places nearby that also have Free Wifi.

You will also be able to use Wifi for reading emails and checking messages on HelpX and social media sites.

I am vision impaired and do have Epilepsy but am generally quite independent. In case needed I have emergency contact numbers on cupboard near stove.

I am finding my physical capacity is not what it use to be which tends to affect ability to manage any extra jobs I need done in yard and around the house from time to time.

I do regularly source a food co-op for my fruit and vegetables although it is only 20 min by car the only downfall is that as I don't drive and use public transport it can take up to 70 min each way. The fact I use public tpt also means I am limited to what I can carry so I always appreciate an extra pair of hand to bring the fruit and veggies home on bus.

You are free to use the kitchen and you get some space on the fridge and pantry for any food you purchase.

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use