help exchange   Host 37358
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Chapelle Voland
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 3 1/2
Persons: 1-2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 37358
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 23, 2017

Would you like to spend Christmas with me? Maybe you are far away from home, in a strange country. It will be a quiet Christmas, with a real Christmas tree with real wax candles. As always at Christmas my daughter will be here. She lives in New York, but she always comes home for Christmas. You are very welcome to join us.

We have had several helpers and on the whole we enjoyed their stay. One of them came with her small daughter (6 years old) and stayed for 5 months. The one that is here at the moment will have been with me for 4 months. I am very sorry to let her go. She is leaving end of November, so I am looking for someone else. I prefer helpers to be over 30 years old though my present helper is only 21.

I have a small farm. It is right out in the country, with no public transport to get around. It is in Franche Comté, about 375 km south of Paris, 150 km north of Lyon. The nearest small town with a super market is 12 km away, though there is a small store in the village if one forgets something. In winter we rarely have snow, though it can get well below zero. But our previous helpers have cut a lot of wood to keep our fires going. In summer it can get rather hot and very dry.

I am quite prepared to take my helpers to see different places. Unfortunately many are shut in winter.

If possible I like a helper to stay for at least for 2-3 weeks. It is of no great help to me if they leave after a week, as it takes some time to know the way around. My husband died in May so I am left alone with a lot of work, though I do have a man who comes in the afternoons to do the heavy work. We have just about finished renovating the sitting room, but there is still a bit more renovation work to be done. I raise geese, ducks, pheasants, all for pleasure, not for eating. I have some cattle, Scottish Highlanders (2 cows, 2 bull, 3 calves). They all are very tame. Should you not be afraid of them, they love to be brushed. In addition I have several cats, 2 dwarf goats. The helper's work is mainly helping with all the animals. Apart from that there may be some wood to cut, repairs be done to the nests of the birds, or – a big job at the moment – nuts to be cracked. At least at the moment no weeding needs to be done.

I give preference to non-smokers. It can be a bit unpleasant at this time of the year, if one has to smoke outside.

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use