help exchange   Host 37939
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Peterborough
All Year: June-September 2018 ONLY
Area (ha):
Persons: 1: NO COUPLES
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 37939
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 10, 2017

NO HELPERS REQUIRED UNTIL SUMMER 2018

I live in a 200 year old converted barn in a small village in NW Cambridgeshire. As I am now a pensioner I require some help to maintain the building, inside and out.
I've had10 excellent helpers during the last 3 summers 2015-2017 and it was a great experience for all of us therefore willing to take more helpers in 2018.
The work would suit fit people, of either gender, who don't mind hard work and working at heights - on ladders. Preference given to those experienced in painting/decorating, gardening and general house maintenance. Tasks I wish to undertake this year are painting, inside plus some gardening. Work times and time off flexible to suit all.
In return I can offer food, accommodation , good company and informal English lessons - I'm a qualified TEFL teacher, now retired. You would get a single room and 2 good meals a day - I'm an excellent cook and enjoy providing/sharing good food for my guests. I eat well, preparing meals from the basics, for a mixed, healthy, balanced diet. Food faddists or those with special diets need NOT apply.
I do not smoke and would not want smokers to stay in my home.

I've been a Couchsurfing host for the last 8 years and have had over 70 visitors so am no stranger to having foreign guests and entertaining them. I also enjoy learning from my guests, especially new food recipes and encourage my guests to cook meals from their own countries with me.

Available facilities include:
Internet and wifi in the house.
use of washing machine and drying facilities
use of shower and W.C
use of cooking facilities, with agreement from myself
use of own bedroom.

I live alone but have a new puppy (from 18/6/17) - a German short-haired pointer; Woody - who keeps me active. You would be welcome to join me on walks in the area, lots of quaint country pubs - all dog friendly with good pub grub.
My village is situated 9 miles from a small city, 120Km north of London, with good road and train access to London, Cambridge, Nottingham, Leicester, York etc.
Happy to pick up from nearest railway/ bus station - Peterborough.

Photos show my home and the the guest bedroom, Woody and myself whilst recently in New Zealand.

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use